Parliament Website

Occupational Health And Control Of Excessive Temperatures

EDM number 226 in 2014-15, proposed by Ian Lavery on 07/07/2014.
Categorised under the topic of Industrial health and safety.

That this House welcomes the introduction of mandatory cooling breaks for players in World Cup matches in circumstances where the temperature exceeds a specified level; notes that FIFA was required to introduce such control measures in order to comply with Brazilian labour law which would have seen them fined in the region of $90,000 dollars for each game played without a break; recognises that relief from excessive temperatures has a positive effect on productivity, concentration and general well-being; further notes that excessive temperature in the workplace is not something that applies only in tropical climates but regularly affects millions of workers in a wide variety of factories, call-centres, schools, forms of transport and offices in the UK; and therefore supports the campaign of the TUC-backed Cool It! coalition initiated by the Bakers, Food and Allied Workers Union in calling for a specific maximum working temperature to be set in legislation, beyond which the employer would have a legal responsibility to introduce appropriate control measures.

This motion has been signed by a total of 34 MPs.

Ian Lavery07/07/2014WansbeckLabourProposed
John McDonnell07/07/2014Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
David Crausby07/07/2014Bolton North EastLabourSeconded
Linda Riordan07/07/2014HalifaxLabourSeconded
Grahame Morris07/07/2014EasingtonLabourSeconded
David Anderson07/07/2014BlaydonLabourSeconded
John Cryer07/07/2014Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins07/07/2014Luton NorthLabourSigned
Ian Mearns07/07/2014GatesheadLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley07/07/2014Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Jeremy Corbyn08/07/2014Islington NorthLabourSigned
David Ward08/07/2014Bradford EastLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Durkan08/07/2014FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Jim Dobbin08/07/2014Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma08/07/2014Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Michael Connarty08/07/2014Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Alan Meale08/07/2014MansfieldLabourSigned
Jim Shannon08/07/2014StrangfordDUPSigned
Margaret Ritchie09/07/2014South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Ronnie Campbell09/07/2014Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Steve Rotheram09/07/2014Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Jimmy Hood09/07/2014Lanark and Hamilton EastLabourSigned
George Galloway10/07/2014Bradford WestRespectSigned
Mary Glindon10/07/2014North TynesideLabourSigned
Mark Williams10/07/2014CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Angus MacNeil10/07/2014Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Paul Flynn14/07/2014Newport WestLabourSigned
Jim McGovern14/07/2014Dundee WestLabourSigned
Mike Hancock15/07/2014Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech15/07/2014Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Katy Clark15/07/2014North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Martin Caton16/07/2014GowerLabourSigned
Jim Sheridan16/07/2014Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell17/07/2014Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.