Parliament Website

Highways Agency

EDM number 241 in 2014-15, proposed by John McDonnell on 08/07/2014.
Categorised under the topics of Non-departmental public bodies and Roads.

That this House agrees with the findings of the Transport Select Committee, expressed in March 2014, that the case for the removal of the Highways Agency from the direct control of accountable Ministers has not been made; believes that the proposed changes of the status of the Highways Agency to a Government-owned company is the first step towards full privatisation and will lead to road tolls, increased cost to the public and a detrimental impact on the environment and road safety; regrets that the option to maintain the Highway Agency as Executive Agency of Department for Transport but with funding certainty was not even considered; further believes that these proposals are not driven by evidence but the ideological belief that the private sector is better than the public sector; and calls on the Government to accept that there is no desire amongst the British public for a costly privatised road network and that the Highways Agency, properly resourced and at arms length as it was originally intended to be, rather than a Government owned company, would be a considerably more efficient and cost-effective solution to delivering the aims of the infrastructure investment in the Strategic Roads Network.

This motion has been signed by a total of 46 MPs.

John McDonnell08/07/2014Hayes and HarlingtonLabourProposed
Elfyn Llwyd08/07/2014Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn08/07/2014Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Ian Lavery08/07/2014WansbeckLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins08/07/2014Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Jonathan Edwards09/07/2014Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSeconded
Alan Meale09/07/2014MansfieldLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell09/07/2014Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Steve Rotheram09/07/2014Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Michael Connarty10/07/2014Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
George Galloway10/07/2014Bradford WestRespectSigned
Mary Glindon10/07/2014North TynesideLabourSigned
Paul Flynn14/07/2014Newport WestLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff15/07/2014Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Katy Clark15/07/2014North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
John Leech15/07/2014Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
David Crausby16/07/2014Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Martin Caton16/07/2014GowerLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma16/07/2014Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Fiona Bruce17/07/2014CongletonConservativeSigned
Valerie Vaz21/07/2014Walsall SouthLabourSigned
Yasmin Qureshi01/09/2014Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Gerald Kaufman02/09/2014Manchester, GortonLabourSigned
Bob Ainsworth04/09/2014Coventry North EastLabourSigned
Joan Walley05/09/2014Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Dave Watts08/09/2014St Helens NorthLabourSigned
David Wright10/09/2014TelfordLabourSigned
Graham Stringer11/09/2014Blackley and BroughtonLabourSigned
David Heyes13/10/2014Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
Jessica Morden13/10/2014Newport EastLabourSigned
Joe Benton15/10/2014BootleLabourSigned
Geraint Davies15/10/2014Swansea WestLabourSigned
George Howarth24/11/2014KnowsleyLabourSigned
Ian Mearns01/12/2014GatesheadLabourSigned
Frank Doran03/12/2014Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
Grahame Morris08/12/2014EasingtonLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham10/12/2014Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Alex Cunningham07/01/2015Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Natascha Engel13/01/2015North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
George Mudie13/01/2015Leeds EastLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne13/01/2015Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Michael Meacher15/01/2015Oldham West and RoytonLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson02/02/2015Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Tom Watson04/02/2015West Bromwich EastLabourSigned
John Pugh05/02/2015SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Gapes12/03/2015Ilford SouthLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.