Parliament Website

Dr Elizabeth Garrett Anderson And Women In Science

EDM number 297 in 2014-15, proposed by Valerie Vaz on 01/09/2014.
Categorised under the topics of Cultural heritage, Equality, Health staff and professions and Science.

That this House commends the contribution to medical science by Elizabeth Garrett Anderson who was born in London in 1836; notes that in 1865, Dr Anderson was the first Englishwoman to qualify as a doctor after passing the Society of Apothecaries' examinations; praises Dr Anderson's work in 1866 to establish a dispensary for women in London; further notes that in 1870 Dr Anderson was made a visiting physician to the East London Hospital and in 1872 she founded the New Hospital for Women in London, which was staffed entirely by women; further notes that Dr Anderson helped found the London School of Medicine for Women in 1874 and was appointed dean in 1883; further notes that because of Dr Anderson's pioneering work an Act was passed in 1876 that permitted women to enter medical professions; further notes that during her retirement in Aldeburgh in Suffolk, Dr Anderson became the first female mayor in England in 1908; and calls on the Government to ensure that young women are encouraged to pursue careers in science.

This motion has been signed by a total of 35 MPs.

Valerie Vaz01/09/2014Walsall SouthLabourProposed
Kelvin Hopkins01/09/2014Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Bob Russell01/09/2014ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
Michael Connarty01/09/2014Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSeconded
Jim Shannon01/09/2014StrangfordDUPSeconded
David Simpson02/09/2014Upper BannDUPSeconded
Alan Meale02/09/2014MansfieldLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin02/09/2014Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
David Ward02/09/2014Bradford EastLiberal DemocratSigned
Glenda Jackson03/09/2014Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Martin Caton03/09/2014GowerLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell03/09/2014Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Mike Hancock03/09/2014Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Virendra Sharma03/09/2014Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Annette Brooke04/09/2014Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Mary Glindon04/09/2014North TynesideLabourSigned
Julian Lewis04/09/2014New Forest EastConservativeSigned
Hywel Francis05/09/2014AberavonLabourSigned
Jim Fitzpatrick05/09/2014Poplar and LimehouseLabourSigned
Hugh Bayley08/09/2014York CentralLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd09/09/2014Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
John Leech09/09/2014Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Lady Hermon10/09/2014North DownIndependentSigned
Menzies Campbell10/09/2014North East FifeLiberal DemocratSigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson10/09/2014Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
Steve Rotheram10/09/2014Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
William McCrea10/09/2014South AntrimDUPSigned
Andrew George11/09/2014St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Flynn12/09/2014Newport WestLabourSigned
John McDonnell12/09/2014Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas12/09/2014Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Yasmin Qureshi13/10/2014Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Naomi Long13/10/2014Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Roger Godsiff15/10/2014Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell13/01/2015East LondonderryDUPSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.