Parliament Website

Scotland And The United Kingdom

EDM number 327 in 2014-15, proposed by Bernard Jenkin on 09/09/2014.
Categorised under the topics of Constitution and Devolution.

That this House urges the Scottish people to vote to keep Scotland as a part of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, because Scotland as part of the UK can provide far greater security and prosperity for its people than Scotland could on its own, by virtue of the global reach of the UK's influence as one of the richest and most powerful states in the world; notes that the great social, economic and political reforms, such as the NHS, the growth of free enterprise and free trade and the introduction of universal suffrage for men and women, were all brought about by the United Kingdom; considers that, far from stifling Scotland, Scotland's identity and character has flourished within the UK, and the influence of Scotland's industry, engineering, science, medicine, philosophy, literature, arts and sport has been incalculable; further considers that together these nations have fought and defeated tyranny and promoted freedom, democracy and the rule of law and that the Union does not fetter but empowers Scotland, helping to create and to sustain one of the most influential powers on earth; believes that only together can future generations of the four nations of the Union ensure greater freedom, prosperity and security in the century ahead for all; and fervently hopes the Scottish people will draw back from breaking this great marriage of nations which would result in decades of pain, blame and recrimination, and instead continue to evolve the Union of our great nations from within.

This motion has been signed by a total of 50 MPs.

Bernard Jenkin09/09/2014Harwich and North EssexConservativeProposed
Liam Fox09/09/2014North SomersetConservativeSeconded
David Davis09/09/2014Haltemprice and HowdenConservativeSeconded
Peter Lilley09/09/2014Hitchin and HarpendenConservativeSeconded
Graham Brady09/09/2014Altrincham and Sale WestConservativeSeconded
Zac Goldsmith09/09/2014Richmond ParkConservativeSeconded
Andrew Percy09/09/2014Brigg and GooleConservativeSigned
Peter Aldous09/09/2014WaveneyConservativeSigned
Richard Drax09/09/2014South DorsetConservativeSigned
Andrew Stephenson09/09/2014PendleConservativeSigned
Andrew Rosindell09/09/2014RomfordConservativeSigned
James Gray09/09/2014North WiltshireConservativeSigned
Karl McCartney09/09/2014LincolnConservativeSigned
Kate Hoey09/09/2014VauxhallLabourSigned
Brian Binley09/09/2014Northampton SouthConservativeSigned
Neil Carmichael09/09/2014StroudConservativeSigned
Rory Stewart09/09/2014Penrith and The BorderConservativeSigned
Andrew Griffiths10/09/2014BurtonConservativeSigned
Nick Harvey10/09/2014North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Gordon Henderson10/09/2014Sittingbourne and SheppeyConservativeSigned
Adam Holloway10/09/2014GraveshamConservativeSigned
Jeremy Lefroy10/09/2014StaffordConservativeSigned
Julian Lewis10/09/2014New Forest EastConservativeSigned
Jonathan Lord10/09/2014WokingConservativeSigned
Penny Mordaunt10/09/2014Portsmouth NorthConservativeSigned
Bob Neill10/09/2014Bromley and ChislehurstConservativeSigned
Richard Ottaway10/09/2014Croydon SouthConservativeSigned
Mark Pawsey10/09/2014RugbyConservativeSigned
Laurence Robertson10/09/2014TewkesburyConservativeSigned
Lady Hermon10/09/2014North DownIndependentSigned
Bill Wiggin10/09/2014North HerefordshireConservativeSigned
Andrew Bridgen10/09/2014North West LeicestershireConservativeSigned
Mark Garnier10/09/2014Wyre ForestConservativeSigned
Peter Bottomley10/09/2014Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Jim Shannon10/09/2014StrangfordDUPSigned
David Simpson10/09/2014Upper BannDUPSigned
Nicholas Soames10/09/2014Mid SussexConservativeSigned
Richard Shepherd10/09/2014Aldridge-BrownhillsConservativeSigned
David Ward10/09/2014Bradford EastLiberal DemocratSigned
Robert Walter10/09/2014North DorsetConservativeSigned
Bob Blackman10/09/2014Harrow EastConservativeSigned
Tracey Crouch10/09/2014Chatham and AylesfordConservativeSigned
Glyn Davies10/09/2014MontgomeryshireConservativeSigned
Nick de Bois10/09/2014Enfield NorthConservativeSigned
Tim Farron10/09/2014Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Cheryl Gillan10/09/2014Chesham and AmershamConservativeSigned
Mark Menzies11/09/2014FyldeConservativeSigned
David Amess11/09/2014Southend WestConservativeSigned
Martin Vickers12/09/2014CleethorpesConservativeSigned
Mike Hancock12/09/2014Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.