Parliament Website

Safeguarding Journalists And Their Sources

EDM number 352 in 2014-15, proposed by John McDonnell on 14/10/2014.
Categorised under the topics of Administration of justice, Data protection, Human rights, Media, Police, Press and Privacy.

That this House is gravely concerned about recent reports that police forces have used powers contained in the Regulation of Investigatory Powers Act 2000 (RIPA) to access journalists' sources and materials; notes that unlike requests made under the Police and Criminal Evidence Act 1984 there is no public record of these requests or their frequency, extent or even the existence of these applications, and there is no judicial oversight or independent process to grant permission to use these powers; further notes and welcomes the Interception of Communications Commissioner's new inquiry that will be asking all chief constables how many applications under RIPA have been granted since 2000 to access journalists' communications, and calls on these findings to be made public; shares the view of Gavin Millar QC that the use of such powers contravenes Article 10 of the European Convention on Human Rights on freedom of expression that enshrine the rights of journalists and news organisations; shares the concern of the National Union of Journalists and other press freedom and privacy campaigners that this constitutes an attack on the press which will make whistleblowers reluctant to speak to journalists and also make it more difficult to report in the public interest; and therefore calls on the Government to take urgent steps to legislate to ensure there are protections for professions whose communications must be subject to strict confidentiality.

This motion has been signed by a total of 40 MPs.

John McDonnell14/10/2014Hayes and HarlingtonLabourProposed
Caroline Lucas14/10/2014Brighton, PavilionGreenSeconded
John Leech14/10/2014Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins15/10/2014Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Ronnie Campbell15/10/2014Blyth ValleyLabourSeconded
Jonathan Edwards15/10/2014Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSeconded
Tracey Crouch15/10/2014Chatham and AylesfordConservativeSigned
Kate Hoey15/10/2014VauxhallLabourSigned
Mike Hancock15/10/2014Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Caton15/10/2014GowerLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley15/10/2014Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Mark Durkan15/10/2014FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Steve Rotheram16/10/2014Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Mary Glindon16/10/2014North TynesideLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn16/10/2014Islington NorthLabourSigned
Nigel Evans16/10/2014Ribble ValleyConservativeSigned
Grahame Morris16/10/2014EasingtonLabourSigned
David Anderson20/10/2014BlaydonLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner21/10/2014BolsoverLabourSigned
Jimmy Hood21/10/2014Lanark and Hamilton EastLabourSigned
David Ward21/10/2014Bradford EastLiberal DemocratSigned
John Pugh21/10/2014SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Meale21/10/2014MansfieldLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham22/10/2014Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Frank Doran23/10/2014Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
David Heyes23/10/2014Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
Paul Flynn24/10/2014Newport WestLabourSigned
Katy Clark27/10/2014North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
John Hemming27/10/2014Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Virendra Sharma27/10/2014Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Keith Vaz28/10/2014Leicester EastLabourSigned
Julian Huppert29/10/2014CambridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
Naomi Long30/10/2014Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Elfyn Llwyd30/10/2014Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Valerie Vaz04/11/2014Walsall SouthLabourSigned
Sarah Champion17/11/2014RotherhamLabourSigned
Charles Kennedy19/11/2014Ross, Skye and LochaberLiberal DemocratSigned
Lindsay Roy25/11/2014GlenrothesLabourSigned
Frank Dobson05/01/2015Holborn and St PancrasLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn24/02/2015JarrowLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.