Parliament Website

Higher Rate Telephone Numbers Used By Government Departments

EDM number 369 in 2014-15, proposed by Valerie Vaz on 16/10/2014.
Categorised under the topics of Central government and Telecommunications.

That this House welcomes the guidance from the Cabinet Office published in December 2013, on higher rate telephone lines to government departments stating that it is inappropriate for callers to pay substantial charges for accessing core public services; commends the government departments who no longer use higher rate telephone numbers; notes the Department for Work and Pensions as the least compliant with the guidance as it operates more higher rate lines than the other government departments combined and is in contact with some of the most vulnerable in society; calls on the Government and the Cabinet Office to set a deadline of 31 December 2014 for the phasing out of higher rate telephone numbers in all government departments; and further calls on the Government to ensure that arm's-length bodies and private contractors who deliver public services adhere to the same guidance as central Government.

This motion has been signed by a total of 33 MPs.

Valerie Vaz16/10/2014Walsall SouthLabourProposed
Richard Shepherd21/10/2014Aldridge-BrownhillsConservativeSeconded
David Ward21/10/2014Bradford EastLiberal DemocratSeconded
Jimmy Hood21/10/2014Lanark and Hamilton EastLabourSeconded
Mike Hancock21/10/2014Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
Graeme Morrice21/10/2014LivingstonLabourSeconded
Jim Shannon22/10/2014StrangfordDUPSigned
Teresa Pearce22/10/2014Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Michael Weir22/10/2014AngusScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Campbell22/10/2014Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Steve Rotheram22/10/2014Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
David Anderson22/10/2014BlaydonLabourSigned
Martin Caton22/10/2014GowerLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell22/10/2014East LondonderryDUPSigned
David Heyes23/10/2014Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins23/10/2014Luton NorthLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds23/10/2014Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Paul Flynn24/10/2014Newport WestLabourSigned
Mary Glindon27/10/2014North TynesideLabourSigned
John Leech27/10/2014Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Roger Godsiff27/10/2014Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Lady Hermon27/10/2014North DownIndependentSigned
Caroline Lucas27/10/2014Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Michael Connarty28/10/2014Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Naomi Long29/10/2014Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Sammy Wilson29/10/2014East AntrimDUPSigned
Tom Harris03/11/2014Glasgow SouthLabourSigned
Andrew Stunell05/11/2014Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
George Galloway05/11/2014Bradford WestRespectSigned
David Tredinnick05/11/2014BosworthConservativeSigned
Barry Sheerman11/11/2014HuddersfieldLabourSigned
Chris Ruane18/11/2014Vale of ClwydLabourSigned
Lindsay Roy25/11/2014GlenrothesLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.