Parliament Website

Jean-Bertrand Ewanga

EDM number 389 in 2014-15, proposed by Jeremy Corbyn on 22/10/2014.
Categorised under the topics of Africa, Human rights and Prisons.

That this House expresses its gravest concern at the sentencing of the hon. Jean-Bertrand Ewanga, an Opposition Member of the Democratic Republic of Congo's Parliament, to one year of imprisonment on charges of insulting the President, the Government and Parliament, based on his declaration against the extension of constitutional presidential terms limits at a rally in August 2014; notes that Save the Congo considers him to be a prisoner of conscience, alongside the hon. Eugène Diomi Ndongala, on the basis of his opposition to the current government of Democratic Republic of Congo; and urges the Government to make representations to secure the immediate release of these parliamentarians and other Opposition prisoners jailed on politically-motivated charges in Congo.

This motion has been signed by a total of 28 MPs.

Jeremy Corbyn22/10/2014Islington NorthLabourProposed
Mark Durkan22/10/2014FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Peter Bottomley22/10/2014Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Bob Russell22/10/2014ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
Jim Shannon23/10/2014StrangfordDUPSeconded
Paul Flynn24/10/2014Newport WestLabourSeconded
Mary Glindon24/10/2014North TynesideLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff27/10/2014Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma27/10/2014Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
John Hemming27/10/2014Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Meale27/10/2014MansfieldLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie27/10/2014South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Kelvin Hopkins27/10/2014Luton NorthLabourSigned
David Anderson27/10/2014BlaydonLabourSigned
Mike Hancock27/10/2014Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech27/10/2014Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Caton28/10/2014GowerLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell28/10/2014Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Mark Williams28/10/2014CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
David Ward28/10/2014Bradford EastLiberal DemocratSigned
Ronnie Campbell29/10/2014Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
William McCrea29/10/2014South AntrimDUPSigned
Naomi Long30/10/2014Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Andrew George30/10/2014St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Cunningham03/11/2014Coventry SouthLabourSigned
George Galloway05/11/2014Bradford WestRespectSigned
John McDonnell18/11/2014Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Menzies Campbell20/11/2014North East FifeLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.