Parliament Website

Imprisonment And Maltreatment Of Shahrokh Zamani And Other Trade Unionists In Iran

EDM number 52 in 2014-15, proposed by John McDonnell on 05/06/2014.
Categorised under the topics of Industrial relations, Iran and Prisons.

That this House notes with great concern that Shahrokh Zamani, a member of the Painters' Union, was charged with endangering national security and participating in an illegal organisation following his attempts to build an independent trade union and was then physically and psychologically abused, denied medication, denied access to visitors and was recently transferred to the notorious Ghezel Hesar prison before returning to Rajai Shahr prison; further notes the recent 47-day hunger strike conducted by Mr Zamani in protest against his maltreatment and that of fellow prisoners; urges the Iranian government to release Mr Zamani unconditionally; and calls on the Government to press the Iranian government to respect trade union rights and International Labour Organization conventions.

This motion has been signed by a total of 36 MPs.

John McDonnell05/06/2014Hayes and HarlingtonLabourProposed
Katy Clark05/06/2014North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn05/06/2014Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins09/06/2014Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Linda Riordan09/06/2014HalifaxLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley09/06/2014Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Alan Meale09/06/2014MansfieldLabourSigned
Hywel Williams09/06/2014ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Mark Durkan09/06/2014FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Dennis Skinner10/06/2014BolsoverLabourSigned
John Leech10/06/2014Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Margaret Ritchie10/06/2014South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Martin Caton10/06/2014GowerLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin10/06/2014Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Jim Shannon10/06/2014StrangfordDUPSigned
Jonathan Edwards10/06/2014Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Roger Godsiff10/06/2014Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell11/06/2014Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Steve Rotheram11/06/2014Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell11/06/2014Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Nigel Dodds11/06/2014Belfast NorthDUPSigned
William McCrea11/06/2014South AntrimDUPSigned
Jimmy Hood11/06/2014Lanark and Hamilton EastLabourSigned
Ian Mearns11/06/2014GatesheadLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd11/06/2014Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
David Crausby12/06/2014Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Paul Flynn12/06/2014Newport WestLabourSigned
Ian Lavery12/06/2014WansbeckLabourSigned
Mary Glindon12/06/2014North TynesideLabourSigned
Michael Weir12/06/2014AngusScottish National PartySigned
Mark Williams16/06/2014CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Hancock17/06/2014Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim McGovern17/06/2014Dundee WestLabourSigned
Frank Doran23/06/2014Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
Paul Blomfield23/06/2014Sheffield CentralLabourSigned
Mark Hendrick08/07/2014PrestonLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.