Parliament Website

Sugar In Food And Drinks (Labelling And Advertising)

EDM number 530 in 2014-15, proposed by Geraint Davies on 19/11/2014.
Categorised under the topics of Consumers, Food, Industry and Obesity.

That this House notes that one in four people in Britain is obese, with two-thirds of the population overweight, and the growth of NHS costs associated with obesity and diabetes; further notes the link between added sugar in processed foods and drinks and obesity; further notes that the maximum amount of added sugar the World Health Organisation recommends per day is six teaspoonfuls for women and nine for men, and that the promotion of high sugar products is often as low fat products; and calls on the Government to support moves to express added sugar in teaspoonfuls on product packaging and to restrict the advertising of high sugar products as low fat products.

This motion has been signed by a total of 45 MPs.

Geraint Davies19/11/2014Swansea WestLabourProposed
Grahame Morris19/11/2014EasingtonLabourSeconded
Michael Meacher19/11/2014Oldham West and RoytonLabourSeconded
Sheila Gilmore19/11/2014Edinburgh EastLabourSeconded
Mark Williams19/11/2014CeredigionLiberal DemocratSeconded
Frank Dobson19/11/2014Holborn and St PancrasLabourSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn19/11/2014Islington NorthLabourSigned
John McDonnell19/11/2014Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Mike Thornton19/11/2014EastleighLiberal DemocratSigned
Caroline Lucas19/11/2014Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Alan Meale19/11/2014MansfieldLabourSigned
Tom Clarke19/11/2014Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Katy Clark19/11/2014North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
David Anderson19/11/2014BlaydonLabourSigned
Nadine Dorries19/11/2014Mid BedfordshireConservativeSigned
Stephen Hepburn19/11/2014JarrowLabourSigned
Jonathan Edwards19/11/2014Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Alex Cunningham19/11/2014Stockton NorthLabourSigned
David Crausby19/11/2014Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Liz McInnes19/11/2014Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne20/11/2014Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Andrew George20/11/2014St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Durkan20/11/2014FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Bob Blackman20/11/2014Harrow EastConservativeSigned
Martin Caton21/11/2014GowerLabourSigned
Mike Hancock24/11/2014Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Diane Abbott24/11/2014Hackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabourSigned
Mary Glindon24/11/2014North TynesideLabourSigned
Lady Hermon24/11/2014North DownIndependentSigned
Elfyn Llwyd25/11/2014Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Lindsay Roy25/11/2014GlenrothesLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell25/11/2014East LondonderryDUPSigned
John Leech25/11/2014Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Kelvin Hopkins25/11/2014Luton NorthLabourSigned
Paul Flynn25/11/2014Newport WestLabourSigned
William McCrea26/11/2014South AntrimDUPSigned
Mark Hunter26/11/2014CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Virendra Sharma26/11/2014Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell26/11/2014Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
David Ward26/11/2014Bradford EastLiberal DemocratSigned
Nigel Dodds26/11/2014Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Linda Riordan26/11/2014HalifaxLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff28/11/2014Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Chris Williamson10/12/2014Derby NorthLabourSigned
George Galloway11/02/2015Bradford WestRespectSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.