Parliament Website

Performance Of BT Openreach

EDM number 535 in 2014-15, proposed by Robert Smith on 20/11/2014.
Categorised under the topics of Standards and Telecommunications.

That this House notes with concern the number of businesses and households who have experienced telecommunication problems because of the failure of BT Openreach contractors to install telephone landlines and repair faults within a reasonable timeframe; recognises that reliable telephone and broadband connections are crucial for businesses and families across the UK; further notes the frustration and difficulties experienced by those who have been left without a telephone line or broadband access; further notes that people cannot complain directly to Openreach but must go through their service provider often causing further inconvenience to consumers; and calls on Ofcom to ensure that the minimum targets imposed on BT Openreach are met and their performance is monitored to ensure that future customers do not experience the levels of poor service that have been reported.

This motion has been signed by a total of 24 MPs.

Robert Smith20/11/2014West Aberdeenshire and KincardineLiberal DemocratProposed
Albert Owen21/11/2014Ynys MLabourSeconded
Jonathan Edwards21/11/2014Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSeconded
Michael Weir21/11/2014AngusScottish National PartySeconded
Martin Caton21/11/2014GowerLabourSeconded
Andrew George24/11/2014St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
John Thurso24/11/2014Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossLiberal DemocratSigned
Lady Hermon24/11/2014North DownIndependentSigned
Jim Shannon25/11/2014StrangfordDUPSigned
Elfyn Llwyd25/11/2014Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Lindsay Roy25/11/2014GlenrothesLabourSigned
Mark Hunter26/11/2014CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Hywel Williams26/11/2014ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Alan Meale26/11/2014MansfieldLabourSigned
Mike Hancock26/11/2014Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Virendra Sharma26/11/2014Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
William McCrea26/11/2014South AntrimDUPSigned
John Leech01/12/2014Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Williams02/12/2014CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Chris Williamson10/12/2014Derby NorthLabourSigned
Andrew Stephenson11/12/2014PendleConservativeSigned
Charles Kennedy20/01/2015Ross, Skye and LochaberLiberal DemocratSigned
George Galloway11/02/2015Bradford WestRespectSigned
Kevin Barron19/03/2015Rother ValleyLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.