Parliament Website

Young Workers And Level Of National Minimum Wage

EDM number 573 in 2014-15, proposed by Ian Mearns on 27/11/2014.
Categorised under the topics of Employment, Incomes and poverty and Pay.

That this House condemns the epidemic of zero-hours contracts and low pay for workers in the UK; regrets that the current national minimum wage is set at just £5.31 for 18 to 20 year olds, £3.79 for 16 to 17 year olds and just £2.73 for apprentices; notes that workers under 21 years old are disproportionately employed in highly casualised sectors where zero-hours contracts are frequently used; further notes that this prevents many young workers from being able to budget from week-to-week or save for their futures; believes that employers should not be able to exploit young people in this way and that legislation must ensure that no worker has to work on a zero-hours contract; and calls for the adult rate for the national minimum wage to apply to every worker of 16 years of age and above, except on the basis of proven inability to pay, following full disclosure of company profits and executive pay levels.

This motion has been signed by a total of 51 MPs.

Ian Mearns27/11/2014GatesheadLabourProposed
John McDonnell27/11/2014Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
Linda Riordan27/11/2014HalifaxLabourSeconded
Ian Lavery27/11/2014WansbeckLabourSeconded
David Anderson27/11/2014BlaydonLabourSeconded
Grahame Morris27/11/2014EasingtonLabourSeconded
Mike Hancock28/11/2014Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Dennis Skinner01/12/2014BolsoverLabourSigned
Chris Williamson01/12/2014Derby NorthLabourSigned
Mark Durkan01/12/2014FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Jim Shannon01/12/2014StrangfordDUPSigned
Paul Flynn02/12/2014Newport WestLabourSigned
Alan Meale02/12/2014MansfieldLabourSigned
Jim Sheridan02/12/2014Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSigned
Martin Caton02/12/2014GowerLabourSigned
Liz McInnes02/12/2014Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
George Howarth02/12/2014KnowsleyLabourSigned
David Simpson02/12/2014Upper BannDUPSigned
William McCrea02/12/2014South AntrimDUPSigned
Virendra Sharma03/12/2014Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Austin Mitchell03/12/2014Great GrimsbyLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell03/12/2014Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins03/12/2014Luton NorthLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds03/12/2014Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Jimmy Hood03/12/2014Lanark and Hamilton EastLabourSigned
Diane Abbott03/12/2014Hackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabourSigned
Lady Hermon03/12/2014North DownIndependentSigned
Joan Ruddock04/12/2014Lewisham, DeptfordLabourSigned
Steve Rotheram04/12/2014Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Frank Roy04/12/2014Motherwell and WishawLabourSigned
David Heyes04/12/2014Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
Mary Glindon04/12/2014North TynesideLabourSigned
Jim McGovern05/12/2014Dundee WestLabourSigned
Chris Ruane08/12/2014Vale of ClwydLabourSigned
David Crausby08/12/2014Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas08/12/2014Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Sarah Champion09/12/2014RotherhamLabourSigned
Tony Cunningham10/12/2014WorkingtonLabourSigned
John Robertson11/12/2014Glasgow North WestLabourSigned
Valerie Vaz15/12/2014Walsall SouthLabourSigned
Frank Doran15/12/2014Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn15/12/2014JarrowLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff15/12/2014Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
John Cryer17/12/2014Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Michael Connarty17/12/2014Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne18/12/2014Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Yasmin Qureshi05/01/2015Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell07/01/2015East LondonderryDUPSigned
Katy Clark14/01/2015North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Robert Flello09/02/2015Stoke-on-Trent SouthLabourSigned
George Galloway11/02/2015Bradford WestRespectSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.