Parliament Website

Commonwealth Scholarships

EDM number 596 in 2014-15, proposed by David Lammy on 03/12/2014.
Categorised under the topics of Foreign and Commonwealth Office, Higher education and Students.

That this House expresses great satisfaction that nearly 1,000 Commonwealth citizens will take-up Commonwealth Scholarships funded by the Government in the 2015-16 academic year; congratulates the young recipients on their success in gaining such awards; underlines the distinctive importance of the scheme for Commonwealth visibility and cohesion, for its central place in soft-power strategies for extending UK international influence and promoting democratic values and for the outstanding contribution that alumni make to economic and social advancement in developing countries; welcomes the promising start made by the new Endowment Fund providing Commonwealth Scholarships in low- and middle-income countries; and calls on the Government both to maintain its level of support for the plan in real terms and to promote it among the UK's partners when Commonwealth education ministers meet in the Bahamas in June 2015.

This motion has been signed by a total of 37 MPs.

David Lammy03/12/2014TottenhamLabourProposed
Jim Shannon04/12/2014StrangfordDUPSeconded
Virendra Sharma04/12/2014Ealing, SouthallLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley04/12/2014Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Mike Hancock05/12/2014Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
Alan Meale05/12/2014MansfieldLabourSeconded
Andrew Rosindell05/12/2014RomfordConservativeSigned
David Crausby08/12/2014Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Martin Caton09/12/2014GowerLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell09/12/2014East LondonderryDUPSigned
David Simpson10/12/2014Upper BannDUPSigned
Adrian Sanders10/12/2014TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
David Ward10/12/2014Bradford EastLiberal DemocratSigned
William McCrea10/12/2014South AntrimDUPSigned
Lady Hermon10/12/2014North DownIndependentSigned
Graham Brady10/12/2014Altrincham and Sale WestConservativeSigned
Ian Paisley Jnr10/12/2014North AntrimDUPSigned
Mike Gapes11/12/2014Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds11/12/2014Belfast NorthDUPSigned
John Robertson11/12/2014Glasgow North WestLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson15/12/2014Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Hugh Bayley15/12/2014York CentralLabourSigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson15/12/2014Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
Roger Godsiff15/12/2014Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
William Cash17/12/2014StoneConservativeSigned
Nicholas Soames17/12/2014Mid SussexConservativeSigned
Jim Dowd17/12/2014Lewisham West and PengeLabourSigned
Mark Williams18/12/2014CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
David Amess18/12/2014Southend WestConservativeSigned
Tony Baldry18/12/2014BanburyConservativeSigned
Menzies Campbell18/12/2014North East FifeLiberal DemocratSigned
Hywel Francis14/01/2015AberavonLabourSigned
Frank Field15/01/2015BirkenheadLabourSigned
Andrew Love20/01/2015EdmontonLabourSigned
Jimmy Hood26/01/2015Lanark and Hamilton EastLabourSigned
Andrew Stunell05/02/2015Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew George12/03/2015St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.