Parliament Website

Freedom Of Religion In Sudan

EDM number 71 in 2014-15, proposed by Tony Baldry on 10/06/2014.
Categorised under the topics of Africa, Human rights, Religion and faith communities and Religious discrimination.

That this House resolutely deplores a Sudanese court's sentencing of Meriam Yahya Ibrahim Ishag to death by hanging for apostasy and 100 lashes for adultery; strongly urges Sudan's legal authorities to immediately and unconditionally overturn Ms. Ishag's sentence; notes the joint statement by the embassies of the US, the UK, Canada and the Netherlands expressing concern over the verdict and calling for the government of Sudan to respect the right to freedom of religion; reminds the government of Sudan of its statutory commitment to the right to freedom of religion, including the right of citizens to peacefully follow the faith of their choice, as a State Party to the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights, under article 38 of Sudan's interim constitution and under Article 18 of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights; calls on the government of Sudan to repeal Articles 126 and 146 of the Criminal Code that criminalise apostasy and adultery respectively and to review the entire penal code to ensure other contradictions with the constitution and international commitment are addressed; and anticipates a new constitution that respects Sudan's richly multi-faith and multi-cultural population in which citizens have the right to peacefully follow the faith of their choice without fear of persecution.

This motion has been signed by a total of 58 MPs.

Tony Baldry10/06/2014BanburyConservativeProposed
Menzies Campbell10/06/2014North East FifeLiberal DemocratSeconded
John Leech10/06/2014Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSeconded
Katy Clark10/06/2014North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSeconded
Mark Durkan10/06/2014FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Henry Bellingham10/06/2014North West NorfolkConservativeSeconded
Naomi Long10/06/2014Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Jimmy Hood11/06/2014Lanark and Hamilton EastLabourSigned
Adrian Sanders11/06/2014TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
Jeremy Corbyn11/06/2014Islington NorthLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell11/06/2014Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Nigel Dodds11/06/2014Belfast NorthDUPSigned
William McCrea11/06/2014South AntrimDUPSigned
John McDonnell11/06/2014Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Michael Weir11/06/2014AngusScottish National PartySigned
Hugh Bayley11/06/2014York CentralLabourSigned
Alan Meale11/06/2014MansfieldLabourSigned
Jim Shannon11/06/2014StrangfordDUPSigned
Jim Dobbin11/06/2014Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie11/06/2014South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Jonathan Edwards11/06/2014Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson11/06/2014Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
Gregory Campbell11/06/2014East LondonderryDUPSigned
Ronnie Campbell11/06/2014Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd11/06/2014Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Roger Godsiff12/06/2014Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
James Gray12/06/2014North WiltshireConservativeSigned
Mary Glindon12/06/2014North TynesideLabourSigned
Lindsay Roy12/06/2014GlenrothesLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins12/06/2014Luton NorthLabourSigned
Paul Flynn12/06/2014Newport WestLabourSigned
David Crausby12/06/2014Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Martin Caton12/06/2014GowerLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley12/06/2014Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Mark Williams16/06/2014CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Stunell16/06/2014Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Albert Owen16/06/2014Ynys MLabourSigned
Mike Hancock17/06/2014Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim McGovern17/06/2014Dundee WestLabourSigned
Hywel Francis17/06/2014AberavonLabourSigned
Graham Stringer17/06/2014Blackley and BroughtonLabourSigned
Graeme Morrice17/06/2014LivingstonLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne18/06/2014Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham18/06/2014Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Andrew George18/06/2014St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Julian Brazier19/06/2014CanterburyConservativeSigned
Bob Russell19/06/2014ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Lazarowicz23/06/2014Edinburgh North and LeithLabourSigned
Nick Harvey23/06/2014North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Virendra Sharma23/06/2014Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Bob Blackman23/06/2014Harrow EastConservativeSigned
Sammy Wilson24/06/2014East AntrimDUPSigned
Tony Cunningham25/06/2014WorkingtonLabourSigned
Jim Dowd25/06/2014Lewisham West and PengeLabourSigned
David Davies26/06/2014MonmouthConservativeSigned
John Hemming30/06/2014Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
David Ward30/06/2014Bradford EastLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Rosindell07/07/2014RomfordConservativeSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.