Parliament Website

Electoral Registration And Coalition Government

EDM number 722 in 2014-15, proposed by Chris Ruane on 21/01/2015.
Categorised under the topic of Electoral register.

That this House recognises the cross-party unity in implementing the Electoral Administration Act 2009 to introduce individual electoral registration (IER); notes that the timescale for its introduction was after May 2015; further notes that the reason for this long lead in time was to register the 7.5 million missing voters; further notes that this cross-party unity was shattered in 2010 when the Coalition Government brought forward the date for the introduction of IER; further notes that the stated reason for bringing forward the date for introduction of IER was public concern over electoral registration fraud; further notes that only one person had been successfully prosecuted for electoral registration fraud in the previous four years; further notes that the Government has failed to reduce the number of non-registered voters over the past five years; further notes that this figure has now been increased by an additional one million young people left off the new register; further notes that a possible additional 5.5 million voters could fail to be transferred to the new IER register; and further notes that the combined impact of these failures will have a detrimental effect on the General Election and a detrimental impact on the number of people excluded from the calculations in the new Parliamentary Boundary Review which starts in December 2015.

This motion has been signed by a total of 73 MPs.

Chris Ruane21/01/2015Vale of ClwydLabourProposed
Kevan Jones21/01/2015North DurhamLabourSeconded
George Howarth21/01/2015KnowsleyLabourSeconded
Jim Cunningham21/01/2015Coventry SouthLabourSeconded
Ian Mearns21/01/2015GatesheadLabourSeconded
Grahame Morris21/01/2015EasingtonLabourSeconded
Paul Flynn21/01/2015Newport WestLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner21/01/2015BolsoverLabourSigned
Alex Cunningham21/01/2015Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Fabian Hamilton21/01/2015Leeds North EastLabourSigned
Paul Blomfield21/01/2015Sheffield CentralLabourSigned
Barry Sheerman21/01/2015HuddersfieldLabourSigned
Louise Ellman21/01/2015Liverpool, RiversideLabourSigned
David Anderson21/01/2015BlaydonLabourSigned
Mary Glindon21/01/2015North TynesideLabourSigned
David Wright21/01/2015TelfordLabourSigned
Albert Owen21/01/2015Ynys MLabourSigned
Jessica Morden21/01/2015Newport EastLabourSigned
George Mudie21/01/2015Leeds EastLabourSigned
Steve Rotheram21/01/2015Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Yasmin Qureshi21/01/2015Bolton South EastLabourSigned
David Winnick21/01/2015Walsall NorthLabourSigned
David Lammy21/01/2015TottenhamLabourSigned
John Robertson21/01/2015Glasgow North WestLabourSigned
Valerie Vaz21/01/2015Walsall SouthLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn21/01/2015JarrowLabourSigned
Hugh Bayley22/01/2015York CentralLabourSigned
Liz McInnes22/01/2015Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Ian Lavery22/01/2015WansbeckLabourSigned
John McDonnell22/01/2015Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson22/01/2015Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn23/01/2015Islington NorthLabourSigned
Mike Hancock26/01/2015Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Kelvin Hopkins26/01/2015Luton NorthLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff26/01/2015Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Geoffrey Robinson27/01/2015Coventry North WestLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell28/01/2015Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Ann Coffey28/01/2015StockportLabourSigned
John Mann28/01/2015BassetlawLabourSigned
Bill Esterson28/01/2015Sefton CentralLabourSigned
Siobhain McDonagh28/01/2015Mitcham and MordenLabourSigned
Hazel Blears28/01/2015Salford and EcclesLabourSigned
Natascha Engel28/01/2015North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
Tom Harris28/01/2015Glasgow SouthLabourSigned
Nick Smith28/01/2015Blaenau GwentLabourSigned
Si28/01/2015Swansea EastLabourSigned
Paul Farrelly28/01/2015Newcastle-under-LymeLabourSigned
Frank Doran28/01/2015Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
Graham Stringer28/01/2015Blackley and BroughtonLabourSigned
Mike Gapes28/01/2015Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne28/01/2015Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma28/01/2015Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Graeme Morrice28/01/2015LivingstonLabourSigned
Frank Roy28/01/2015Motherwell and WishawLabourSigned
Clive Efford28/01/2015ElthamLabourSigned
Joan Walley28/01/2015Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Jimmy Hood28/01/2015Lanark and Hamilton EastLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd29/01/2015Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
William McCrea03/02/2015South AntrimDUPSigned
Mark Lazarowicz04/02/2015Edinburgh North and LeithLabourSigned
Mark Tami04/02/2015Alyn and DeesideLabourSigned
Michael Connarty04/02/2015Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Martin Caton04/02/2015GowerLabourSigned
Clive Betts04/02/2015Sheffield South EastLabourSigned
Mark Hendrick04/02/2015PrestonLabourSigned
Kevin Barron04/02/2015Rother ValleyLabourSigned
Gerry Sutcliffe04/02/2015Bradford SouthLabourSigned
Jim McGovern04/02/2015Dundee WestLabourSigned
Gerald Kaufman04/02/2015Manchester, GortonLabourSigned
Andrew McDonald04/02/2015MiddlesbroughLabourSigned
Chris Williamson04/02/2015Derby NorthLabourSigned
Khalid Mahmood05/02/2015Birmingham, Perry BarrLabourSigned
David Crausby10/02/2015Bolton North EastLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.