Parliament Website

Eye Health Research

EDM number 731 in 2014-15, proposed by Annette Brooke on 26/01/2015.
Categorised under the topics of Diseases, Health finance and Research and innovation.

That this House expresses concern that funding for eye health research has hit crisis point; notes that already more than 40 people lose their sight every day in Britain, currently less than two per cent of combined national medical research funding is spent on the eye and that some three million over 65s, equating to one in six elderly people, will have a degree of sight loss by 2050 that will have a significant impact on their daily lives; further notes that sight loss currently costs the UK economy £22 billion annually and many of the 3.8 million people living with diabetes are at serious risk of poor eye health; and calls on the Government to make eye health a higher priority in the UK.

This motion has been signed by a total of 37 MPs.

Annette Brooke26/01/2015Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratProposed
Margaret Ritchie26/01/2015South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Peter Bottomley26/01/2015Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Mark Durkan27/01/2015FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
David Simpson27/01/2015Upper BannDUPSeconded
Gregory Campbell27/01/2015East LondonderryDUPSeconded
Jim Shannon27/01/2015StrangfordDUPSigned
Andrew George27/01/2015St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Liz McInnes27/01/2015Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
David Anderson27/01/2015BlaydonLabourSigned
David Ward28/01/2015Bradford EastLiberal DemocratSigned
Jeremy Corbyn28/01/2015Islington NorthLabourSigned
Grahame Morris28/01/2015EasingtonLabourSigned
Mike Hancock28/01/2015Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
David Wright28/01/2015TelfordLabourSigned
Adrian Sanders28/01/2015TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
Virendra Sharma28/01/2015Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds28/01/2015Belfast NorthDUPSigned
John McDonnell28/01/2015Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Mark Hunter28/01/2015CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Lady Hermon28/01/2015North DownIndependentSigned
Ronnie Campbell28/01/2015Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
William McCrea28/01/2015South AntrimDUPSigned
Sandra Osborne28/01/2015Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Ian Lavery29/01/2015WansbeckLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd29/01/2015Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Mary Glindon03/02/2015North TynesideLabourSigned
Chris Ruane03/02/2015Vale of ClwydLabourSigned
Mark Williams04/02/2015CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson04/02/2015Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
Kelvin Hopkins05/02/2015Luton NorthLabourSigned
Graham Stringer09/02/2015Blackley and BroughtonLabourSigned
Keith Vaz09/02/2015Leicester EastLabourSigned
David Crausby10/02/2015Bolton North EastLabourSigned
John Leech11/02/2015Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
George Galloway11/02/2015Bradford WestRespectSigned
Yasmin Qureshi24/03/2015Bolton South EastLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.