Parliament Website

Christians In Egypt

EDM number 814 in 2014-15, proposed by Jim Shannon on 24/02/2015.
Categorised under the topics of Africa, Equality and Religion and faith communities.

That this House recognises that the new Egyptian constitution advocates religious freedom and equality for all of Egypt's citizens; further recognises the Egyptian government's pledge to reduce persecution and congratulates it on this commitment; commends President el-Sisi on the actions he has taken thus far; and urges the Egyptian government, through the UK Ambassador and Foreign Secretary, to ensure that interpretation of the constitution will enforce the rights of Christians and offer protection to Christians throughout Egypt.

This motion has been signed by a total of 32 MPs.

Jim Shannon24/02/2015StrangfordDUPProposed
William McCrea24/02/2015South AntrimDUPSeconded
David Simpson24/02/2015Upper BannDUPSeconded
Alan Meale25/02/2015MansfieldLabourSeconded
Nigel Dodds25/02/2015Belfast NorthDUPSeconded
Greg Mulholland25/02/2015Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratSeconded
Mark Durkan25/02/2015FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Ronnie Campbell25/02/2015Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell25/02/2015East LondonderryDUPSigned
Stewart Jackson25/02/2015PeterboroughConservativeSigned
Mike Hancock25/02/2015Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Bob Blackman26/02/2015Harrow EastConservativeSigned
Annette Brooke26/02/2015Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech26/02/2015Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew George26/02/2015St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Peter Bottomley27/02/2015Worthing WestConservativeSigned
David Wright02/03/2015TelfordLabourSigned
Graham Stringer03/03/2015Blackley and BroughtonLabourSigned
Mark Hunter03/03/2015CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Margaret Ritchie03/03/2015South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Ian Paisley Jnr03/03/2015North AntrimDUPSigned
George Howarth04/03/2015KnowsleyLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne04/03/2015Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Lady Hermon04/03/2015North DownIndependentSigned
Adrian Sanders04/03/2015TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
David Ward04/03/2015Bradford EastLiberal DemocratSigned
David Crausby04/03/2015Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Mary Glindon04/03/2015North TynesideLabourSigned
Lindsay Roy05/03/2015GlenrothesLabourSigned
Paul Murphy05/03/2015TorfaenLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd05/03/2015Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Michael Connarty17/03/2015Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.