Parliament Website

Royal British Legion Insult To Injury Campaign

EDM number 817 in 2014-15, proposed by David Anderson on 25/02/2015.
Categorised under the topics of Benefits policy, Community care, Sickness, disability and carers' benefits and Veterans.

That this House notes the invaluable contribution made by servicemen and servicewomen, past and present, to the security of the UK and the risks they take with their health and lives in defence of freedom; further notes that this unique sacrifice is not fully recognised within the social care system, with veterans who were injured before 6 April 2005 typically finding that all but the first £10 per week of their military compensation is taken to cover the costs of their care; further notes that this is not the case for veterans who were injured after 6 April 2005, or for civilians who have been injured in the workplace, both of whom can retain their compensation awards in full when accessing council support; recognises that the current situation amounts to a clear breach of the Armed Forces Covenant principle of no disadvantage due to Service; and calls on the Government and devolved administrations to harmonise the treatment of injured veterans' compensation payments in social care charging guidance, making additional financial resources available to help local authorities implement this policy change.

This motion has been signed by a total of 69 MPs.

David Anderson25/02/2015BlaydonLabourProposed
John Mann25/02/2015BassetlawLabourSeconded
John Hemming25/02/2015Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSeconded
Alex Cunningham25/02/2015Stockton NorthLabourSeconded
Hywel Williams25/02/2015ArfonPlaid CymruSeconded
Mark Williams25/02/2015CeredigionLiberal DemocratSeconded
Mike Hancock25/02/2015Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew George25/02/2015St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Annette Brooke26/02/2015Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech26/02/2015Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Graham Allen27/02/2015Nottingham NorthLabourSigned
George Howarth27/02/2015KnowsleyLabourSigned
Steve Rotheram27/02/2015Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Jim Fitzpatrick27/02/2015Poplar and LimehouseLabourSigned
David Amess02/03/2015Southend WestConservativeSigned
Greg Mulholland02/03/2015Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Rosie Cooper02/03/2015West LancashireLabourSigned
David Wright02/03/2015TelfordLabourSigned
Kevin Barron03/03/2015Rother ValleyLabourSigned
Joan Ruddock03/03/2015Lewisham, DeptfordLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas03/03/2015Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Clive Betts03/03/2015Sheffield South EastLabourSigned
Mark Hunter03/03/2015CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Jennifer Willott03/03/2015Cardiff CentralLiberal DemocratSigned
Adrian Sanders03/03/2015TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
John McDonnell03/03/2015Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Hugh Bayley03/03/2015York CentralLabourSigned
Alan Meale03/03/2015MansfieldLabourSigned
Mary Glindon04/03/2015North TynesideLabourSigned
Jim Dowd04/03/2015Lewisham West and PengeLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff04/03/2015Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Ian Mearns04/03/2015GatesheadLabourSigned
David Crausby04/03/2015Bolton North EastLabourSigned
David Ward04/03/2015Bradford EastLiberal DemocratSigned
Sandra Osborne04/03/2015Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Grahame Morris04/03/2015EasingtonLabourSigned
Martin Caton04/03/2015GowerLabourSigned
William McCrea04/03/2015South AntrimDUPSigned
Virendra Sharma04/03/2015Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Jim Sheridan04/03/2015Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSigned
Simon Kirby04/03/2015Brighton, KemptownConservativeSigned
Liz McInnes04/03/2015Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell04/03/2015Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Frank Doran04/03/2015Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
Mark Lazarowicz04/03/2015Edinburgh North and LeithLabourSigned
Lady Hermon04/03/2015North DownIndependentSigned
Graham Brady05/03/2015Altrincham and Sale WestConservativeSigned
Elfyn Llwyd05/03/2015Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Graeme Morrice05/03/2015LivingstonLabourSigned
Stephen Gilbert05/03/2015St Austell and NewquayLiberal DemocratSigned
Roger Williams05/03/2015Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Murphy05/03/2015TorfaenLabourSigned
Yasmin Qureshi05/03/2015Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins05/03/2015Luton NorthLabourSigned
Tony Cunningham05/03/2015WorkingtonLabourSigned
Lindsay Roy05/03/2015GlenrothesLabourSigned
Joan Walley05/03/2015Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Neil Carmichael05/03/2015StroudConservativeSigned
Ian Davidson05/03/2015Glasgow South WestLabourSigned
Bob Ainsworth09/03/2015Coventry North EastLabourSigned
Barry Sheerman09/03/2015HuddersfieldLabourSigned
Jimmy Hood09/03/2015Lanark and Hamilton EastLabourSigned
Charles Kennedy10/03/2015Ross, Skye and LochaberLiberal DemocratSigned
Nigel Dodds12/03/2015Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Andrew Stunell12/03/2015Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Albert Owen18/03/2015Ynys MLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn23/03/2015JarrowLabourSigned
Pete Wishart23/03/2015Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
John Pugh25/03/2015SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.