Parliament Website

Human Rights Abuses In Mexico

EDM number 831 in 2014-15, proposed by Jim Sheridan on 03/03/2015.
Categorised under the topics of Human rights, Industrial relations, International politics and government and Latin America.

That this House notes, on the occasion of the State Visit to the UK of the President of Mexico, Enrique Peña Nieto, that continued violations of internationally accepted labour rights take place on a daily basis in Mexico, many of which have been carried out in an attempt to crush the National Miners' and Metalworkers' Union of Mexico (SNTMMSRM); further notes that the US State Department's 2012 Human Rights Report concluded that the Mexican government did not consistently protect workers' rights in practice; condemns the continued use of protection contracts in which many thousands of workers are governed by illegitimate collective agreements that they have never ratified, were never consulted on and in many cases have never seen; further condemns arbitrary denials of trade union recognition, limitations on the right to strike, and serious health and safety problems in the mining and petroleum industries; believes the existence of free and independent trade unions is essential to the functioning of any democracy; and therefore calls on the Government to make representations to the Mexican government to carry out fundamental reforms to ensure that Mexican labour law respects and enforces international standards; and following the complete exoneration of SNTMMSRM General Secretary, Napoleon Gomez Urrutia, of all allegations against him, that the government of Mexico will guarantee his freedom, safety and wellbeing when he decides to return to Mexico.

This motion has been signed by a total of 35 MPs.

Jim Sheridan03/03/2015Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourProposed
Ian Lavery03/03/2015WansbeckLabourSeconded
David Winnick03/03/2015Walsall NorthLabourSeconded
Jim Cunningham03/03/2015Coventry SouthLabourSeconded
Joe Benton03/03/2015BootleLabourSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn03/03/2015Islington NorthLabourSeconded
John McDonnell03/03/2015Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Grahame Morris03/03/2015EasingtonLabourSigned
Mark Durkan03/03/2015FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
David Crausby04/03/2015Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Mary Glindon04/03/2015North TynesideLabourSigned
Ian Mearns04/03/2015GatesheadLabourSigned
David Anderson04/03/2015BlaydonLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson04/03/2015Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner04/03/2015BolsoverLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell04/03/2015Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne04/03/2015Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Liz McInnes04/03/2015Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie04/03/2015South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Martin Caton04/03/2015GowerLabourSigned
Alan Meale05/03/2015MansfieldLabourSigned
Lindsay Roy05/03/2015GlenrothesLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins05/03/2015Luton NorthLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd05/03/2015Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
George Galloway06/03/2015Bradford WestRespectSigned
Jim Shannon09/03/2015StrangfordDUPSigned
Roger Godsiff10/03/2015Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Hywel Francis11/03/2015AberavonLabourSigned
John Leech11/03/2015Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Lady Hermon12/03/2015North DownIndependentSigned
Graham Stringer16/03/2015Blackley and BroughtonLabourSigned
Michael Connarty17/03/2015Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Jim McGovern17/03/2015Dundee WestLabourSigned
Chris Williamson18/03/2015Derby NorthLabourSigned
Katy Clark25/03/2015North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.