Parliament Website

Epilepsy In The UK

EDM number 833 in 2014-15, proposed by Alan Meale on 03/03/2015.
Categorised under the topics of Benefits policy, Diseases and Health services.

That this House is aware that there are more than 500,000 people in the UK who are affected by epilepsy, an illness that can develop in anyone at any age and be difficult to diagnose, with treatment often taking years to successfuly be established; understands that currently only one in five sufferers are being seen by specialists within the National Institute for Health and Care Excellence recommended waiting period; further notes that significant numbers also experience severe problems or delays in accessing other services or treatment to help manage their condition; further notes that many people having this illness often have to claim benefits to cope and remain independent and that claiming periods for accessing such support can often be lengthy and stressful with many assessors having only a limited knowledge of this illness; and calls on the Government to provide better training for benefits assessors dealing with such conditions, provide sufficient investment to deliver quicker access to specialists and ensure full provision for patients in their communities.

This motion has been signed by a total of 43 MPs.

Alan Meale03/03/2015MansfieldLabourProposed
David Crausby03/03/2015Bolton North EastLabourSeconded
Jim Sheridan03/03/2015Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSeconded
Ronnie Campbell03/03/2015Blyth ValleyLabourSeconded
Grahame Morris03/03/2015EasingtonLabourSeconded
Ian Lavery03/03/2015WansbeckLabourSeconded
Mark Durkan03/03/2015FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Virendra Sharma04/03/2015Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Mary Glindon04/03/2015North TynesideLabourSigned
Ian Mearns04/03/2015GatesheadLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley04/03/2015Worthing WestConservativeSigned
David Ward04/03/2015Bradford EastLiberal DemocratSigned
David Anderson04/03/2015BlaydonLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn04/03/2015Islington NorthLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson04/03/2015Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Martin Caton04/03/2015GowerLabourSigned
William McCrea04/03/2015South AntrimDUPSigned
Sandra Osborne04/03/2015Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
George Howarth04/03/2015KnowsleyLabourSigned
Liz McInnes04/03/2015Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie04/03/2015South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Lindsay Roy05/03/2015GlenrothesLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd05/03/2015Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Kelvin Hopkins05/03/2015Luton NorthLabourSigned
Yasmin Qureshi05/03/2015Bolton South EastLabourSigned
George Galloway06/03/2015Bradford WestRespectSigned
Andrew George09/03/2015St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Shannon09/03/2015StrangfordDUPSigned
David Simpson09/03/2015Upper BannDUPSigned
Gordon Marsden10/03/2015Blackpool SouthLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff10/03/2015Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Ian Paisley Jnr11/03/2015North AntrimDUPSigned
Nigel Dodds11/03/2015Belfast NorthDUPSigned
John Leech11/03/2015Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson11/03/2015Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
Hywel Francis11/03/2015AberavonLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham12/03/2015Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Lady Hermon12/03/2015North DownIndependentSigned
Mike Gapes12/03/2015Ilford SouthLabourSigned
John McDonnell12/03/2015Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Jim Murphy16/03/2015East RenfrewshireLabourSigned
Graham Stringer16/03/2015Blackley and BroughtonLabourSigned
Louise Ellman18/03/2015Liverpool, RiversideLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.