Parliament Website

Mahatma Gandhi Statue In Parliament Square

EDM number 841 in 2014-15, proposed by Keith Vaz on 04/03/2015.
Categorised under the topics of Art works, Asia and International politics and government.

That this House is delighted that the Mahatma Gandhi statue in Parliament Square will be unveiled on 14 March 2015 by the Prime Minister and Indian Finance Minister, Arun Jaitley; congratulates the various stakeholders, including the Gandhi Statue Memorial Trust, Councillor Robert Davies, Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member for the Built Environment of Westminster City Council and the Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport, who chairs the Gandhi Statue Special Advisory Board; applauds the hundreds of generous donors from the UK, India and around the world; notes that this is the third Mahatma Gandhi statue in the UK, the others being in Tavistock Square, London and Belgrave Road, Leicester; and believes the statue is an important testimony to Gandhi's powerful legacy and a very positive step for the relationship between the UK and India.

This motion has been signed by a total of 21 MPs.

Keith Vaz04/03/2015Leicester EastLabourProposed
Valerie Vaz04/03/2015Walsall SouthLabourSeconded
Virendra Sharma04/03/2015Ealing, SouthallLabourSeconded
Hugh Bayley05/03/2015York CentralLabourSeconded
Alan Meale05/03/2015MansfieldLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley05/03/2015Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Elfyn Llwyd05/03/2015Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Andrew George09/03/2015St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Hancock09/03/2015Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Roger Godsiff10/03/2015Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
David Anderson10/03/2015BlaydonLabourSigned
Hywel Francis11/03/2015AberavonLabourSigned
David Ward11/03/2015Bradford EastLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech11/03/2015Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Lady Hermon12/03/2015North DownIndependentSigned
Mike Gapes12/03/2015Ilford SouthLabourSigned
John McDonnell12/03/2015Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Nigel Evans16/03/2015Ribble ValleyConservativeSigned
Kelvin Hopkins16/03/2015Luton NorthLabourSigned
Jim McGovern17/03/2015Dundee WestLabourSigned
David Crausby24/03/2015Bolton North EastLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.