Parliament Website

Diagnosis Of Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder

EDM number 849 in 2014-15, proposed by Annette Brooke on 06/03/2015.
Categorised under the topic of Mental health.

That this House notes the 10 fold increase over 10 years of labelling children with diagnoses of attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD); further notes the guidance by NICE on the serious potential side effects of pharmaceutical drugs prescribed for this condition; affirms that there are serious concerns about the overuse of drug treatment and notes that the United Nations Committee on the Rights of the Child has expressed deep concern about children being misdiagnosed with ADHD; and calls for a significant review of existing treatments and for existing studies and non-drug methods for treating children with symptoms diagnosed as ADHD to be looked into in greater depth including potential causes such as toxins in the environment, poor nutrition and other biophysical reasons.

This motion has been signed by a total of 30 MPs.

Annette Brooke06/03/2015Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratProposed
Sandra Osborne06/03/2015Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSeconded
Nigel Dodds06/03/2015Belfast NorthDUPSeconded
George Galloway06/03/2015Bradford WestRespectSeconded
Lady Hermon06/03/2015North DownIndependentSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins06/03/2015Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Charles Hendry06/03/2015WealdenConservativeSigned
Glenda Jackson09/03/2015Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Jim Shannon09/03/2015StrangfordDUPSigned
David Simpson09/03/2015Upper BannDUPSigned
Mark Durkan09/03/2015FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Margaret Ritchie09/03/2015South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Jeremy Corbyn09/03/2015Islington NorthLabourSigned
Mike Hancock10/03/2015Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Roger Godsiff10/03/2015Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Gordon Marsden10/03/2015Blackpool SouthLabourSigned
William McCrea10/03/2015South AntrimDUPSigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson11/03/2015Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
Ronnie Campbell11/03/2015Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
David Ward11/03/2015Bradford EastLiberal DemocratSigned
Gregory Campbell11/03/2015East LondonderryDUPSigned
Virendra Sharma11/03/2015Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
John Leech11/03/2015Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Meale11/03/2015MansfieldLabourSigned
Andrew George12/03/2015St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Mary Glindon12/03/2015North TynesideLabourSigned
John McDonnell12/03/2015Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Nigel Evans16/03/2015Ribble ValleyConservativeSigned
Bob Blackman16/03/2015Harrow EastConservativeSigned
David Crausby24/03/2015Bolton North EastLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.