Parliament Website

Disappearances In Bangladesh

EDM number 905 in 2014-15, proposed by Julian Huppert on 23/03/2015.
Categorised under the topics of Asia and International politics and government.

That this House notes with alarm the lack of a free and open democratic process in Bangladesh, and in particular the recent disappearance of Salah Uddin Ahmed, spokesperson and joint-secretary of the opposition Bangladesh National Party (BNP); further notes that there have been many other disappearances, including that of BNP leader Elias Ali in 2012, who has still not been located; further notes that Human Rights Watch has said that the Bangladesh government has a history of failing to investigate the enforced disappearance of opposition members; further notes that there are repeated allegations of extrajudicial killings by the Bangladeshi authorities, especially by the Rapid Action Battalion; and calls on the Government to put pressure on the Bangladesh government to ensure that free and fair elections take place promptly in Bangladesh, that disappearances and extra-judicial killings are ended and that freedom of expression is protected in Bangladesh.

This motion has been signed by a total of 23 MPs.

Julian Huppert23/03/2015CambridgeLiberal DemocratProposed
Mark Durkan23/03/2015FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Mike Hancock23/03/2015Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
Bob Russell23/03/2015ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
Peter Bottomley23/03/2015Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Bob Blackman24/03/2015Harrow EastConservativeSeconded
George Galloway24/03/2015Bradford WestRespectSigned
Jim Shannon24/03/2015StrangfordDUPSigned
John McDonnell24/03/2015Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Liz McInnes24/03/2015Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Andrew George25/03/2015St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Lazarowicz25/03/2015Edinburgh North and LeithLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell25/03/2015Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Hywel Williams25/03/2015ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Katy Clark25/03/2015North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne25/03/2015Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell25/03/2015Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie25/03/2015South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Martin Caton25/03/2015GowerLabourSigned
Alan Meale25/03/2015MansfieldLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham25/03/2015Coventry SouthLabourSigned
David Ward25/03/2015Bradford EastLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech25/03/2015Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.