Parliament Website

Genocide In Syria And Iraq

EDM number 1008 in 2015-16, proposed by Robert Flello on 26/01/2016.
Categorised under the topics of Death, Ethnic groups, Human rights, Iraq, Middle East, Religion and faith communities and Religious discrimination.

That this House is appalled by the beheadings, crucifixions, shootings, burnings, other murders, torture, rape and extensive violence being perpetrated by Daesh or IS against Christians and other minorities in Syria and Iraq on the basis of religion and ethnicity; observes that this disgusting behaviour clearly falls within the definition of genocide as determined by the UN Convention on the Prevention and Punishment of Genocide; notes the recent report from the UN Assistance Mission for Iraq, Protection of Civilians in the Armed Conflict in Iraq, which concludes that Daesh is holding approximately 3,500 slaves, mostly women and children in Iraq, primarily from the Yazidi community, and describes Daesh's systematic and widespread violence as staggering, concluding that these acts amount to war crimes, crimes against humanity and possibly genocide; and calls on the Government to use all its influence at the UN to create a stated consensus that genocide is indeed being perpetrated so that the provisions of the Convention can urgently, legitimately and effectively be invoked and implemented.

This motion has been signed by a total of 54 MPs.

Robert Flello26/01/2016Stoke-on-Trent SouthLabourProposed
Fiona Bruce26/01/2016CongletonConservativeSeconded
John Pugh26/01/2016SouthportLiberal DemocratSeconded
Mark Durkan26/01/2016FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Patrick Grady26/01/2016Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySeconded
Catherine McKinnell26/01/2016Newcastle upon Tyne NorthLabourSeconded
Valerie Vaz26/01/2016Walsall SouthLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell27/01/2016East LondonderryDUPSigned
Margaret Ritchie27/01/2016South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Martyn Day27/01/2016Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Liz Saville Roberts27/01/2016Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Peter Bottomley27/01/2016Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Lady Hermon27/01/2016North DownIndependentSigned
Alasdair McDonnell27/01/2016Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Jim Shannon27/01/2016StrangfordDUPSigned
Ronnie Campbell27/01/2016Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Gavin Robinson27/01/2016Belfast EastDUPSigned
Jim Cunningham28/01/2016Coventry SouthLabourSigned
John Nicolson28/01/2016East DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Bob Blackman28/01/2016Harrow EastConservativeSigned
Mary Glindon28/01/2016North TynesideLabourSigned
Ian Blackford28/01/2016Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Mhairi Black28/01/2016Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Neil Gray28/01/2016Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Kelvin Hopkins28/01/2016Luton NorthLabourSigned
Tom Elliott28/01/2016Fermanagh and South TyroneUUPSigned
Danny Kinahan28/01/2016South AntrimUUPSigned
Douglas Chapman28/01/2016Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
David Simpson29/01/2016Upper BannDUPSigned
Gavin Newlands29/01/2016Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Caroline Lucas01/02/2016Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Phil Boswell01/02/2016Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil01/02/2016Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Paul Monaghan01/02/2016Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySigned
Alan Meale01/02/2016MansfieldLabourSigned
George Kerevan01/02/2016East LothianScottish National PartySigned
Wes Streeting01/02/2016Ilford NorthLabourSigned
Carol Monaghan01/02/2016Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens01/02/2016Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Tasmina Sheikh01/02/2016Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Jonathan Edwards01/02/2016Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Roger Mullin02/02/2016Kirkcaldy and CowdenbeathScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law03/02/2016Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins03/02/2016North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Corri Wilson04/02/2016Ayr, Carrick and CumnockScottish National PartySigned
Julian Lewis04/02/2016New Forest EastConservativeSigned
Steven Paterson08/02/2016StirlingScottish National PartySigned
Nigel Dodds11/02/2016Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Anne Main24/02/2016St AlbansConservativeSigned
Greg Mulholland25/02/2016Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Rosie Cooper11/04/2016West LancashireLabourSigned
Mark Tami11/04/2016Alyn and DeesideLabourSigned
Helen Goodman14/04/2016Bishop AucklandLabourSigned
Angela Crawley11/05/2016Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.