Parliament Website

Sexual Abuse And Sexual Violence Awareness Week

EDM number 1052 in 2015-16, proposed by Margaret Ferrier on 02/02/2016.
Categorised under the topics of Crimes of violence and Sexual offences.

That this House notes that 1 to 7 February 2016 is the inaugural Sexual Abuse and Sexual Violence Awareness Week, which aims to ensure that, throughout the UK, a public discussion can be held about sexual abuse and violence; recognises that children, women and men can all be victims of sexual abuse and sexual violence; further recognises that approximately 85,000 women and 12,000 men are raped in England and Wales every year, whilst over half a million children are abused throughout the UK per year; highlights the #ItsNotOk campaign on social media, which seeks to address how such types of abuse should not be tolerated in society; asks for those who are victims of sexual abuse and violence to seek help so that they do not have to suffer alone; commends the work done by organisations like NSPCC, Victim Support, Women's Aid, among many others, which offer vital support to those who have been victims of sexual abuse and violence; and calls on the Government to work with other devolved administrations to tackle sexual violence on a UK-wide scale.

This motion has been signed by a total of 45 MPs.

Margaret Ferrier02/02/2016Rutherglen and Hamilton WestScottish National PartyProposed
Mark Durkan03/02/2016FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Jim Shannon03/02/2016StrangfordDUPSeconded
Tom Elliott03/02/2016Fermanagh and South TyroneUUPSeconded
Chris Law03/02/2016Dundee WestScottish National PartySeconded
Paul Monaghan03/02/2016Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySeconded
Liz Saville Roberts03/02/2016Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Martyn Day03/02/2016Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Peter Bottomley03/02/2016Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Carol Monaghan03/02/2016Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Neil Gray03/02/2016Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Kelvin Hopkins03/02/2016Luton NorthLabourSigned
Alan Meale03/02/2016MansfieldLabourSigned
Greg Mulholland04/02/2016Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Alison Thewliss04/02/2016Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens04/02/2016Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Lisa Cameron04/02/2016East Kilbride, Strathaven and LesmahagowScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil04/02/2016Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Angela Crawley04/02/2016Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned
Ian Blackford04/02/2016Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Margaret Ritchie04/02/2016South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Marion Fellows05/02/2016Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
John Nicolson05/02/2016East DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Tasmina Sheikh08/02/2016Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Steven Paterson08/02/2016StirlingScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell08/02/2016LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Stuart McDonald08/02/2016Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned
Lady Hermon09/02/2016North DownIndependentSigned
Patricia Gibson09/02/2016North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartySigned
Mhairi Black09/02/2016Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Joanna Cherry09/02/2016Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Stuart Donaldson10/02/2016West Aberdeenshire and KincardineScottish National PartySigned
Caroline Lucas10/02/2016Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Alasdair McDonnell10/02/2016Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Owen Thompson10/02/2016MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Danny Kinahan10/02/2016South AntrimUUPSigned
Brendan O'Hara11/02/2016Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Paul Flynn11/02/2016Newport WestLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham22/02/2016Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Phil Boswell22/02/2016Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry22/02/2016Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins25/02/2016North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Corri Wilson09/03/2016Ayr, Carrick and CumnockScottish National PartySigned
Ruth Cadbury21/03/2016Brentford and IsleworthLabourSigned
Anne McLaughlin11/05/2016Glasgow North EastScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.