Parliament Website

Murder Of Honduran Environmentalist Berta C

EDM number 1345 in 2015-16, proposed by Patricia Gibson on 11/04/2016.
Categorised under the topics of Environmental protection, Human rights and Latin America.

That this House condemns the murder of Berta Cáceras, the Honduran environmental activist and recipient of the 2015 Goldman Prize; understands that she was killed for standing up for and campaigning to protect her indigenous community’s rights to their own land; calls on the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights to hold an independent, international and impartial investigation into her murder; wishes to hold the Honduran government to the precautionary measures granted providing protection for members of the Council of Indigenous Peoples of Honduras, members of Berta Cáceras’ family and Gustavo Castro Soto, a Mexican activist who witnessed the assassination; and considers that this is part of a larger ongoing problem in Honduras and that Berta Cáceras was the latest of at least 109 environmental and social justice campaigners to be killed in Honduras since 2010, highlighting the growing trend of murder, violence and intimidation of people defending their indigenous land rights in Honduras and making it the world’s most dangerous country per capita to be an environmental or land defender.

This motion has been signed by a total of 40 MPs.

Patricia Gibson11/04/2016North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartyProposed
Margaret Ferrier11/04/2016Rutherglen and Hamilton WestScottish National PartySeconded
Chris Law11/04/2016Dundee WestScottish National PartySeconded
Roger Mullin11/04/2016Kirkcaldy and CowdenbeathScottish National PartySeconded
George Kerevan11/04/2016East LothianScottish National PartySeconded
Anne McLaughlin11/04/2016Glasgow North EastScottish National PartySeconded
Callum McCaig11/04/2016Aberdeen SouthScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Newlands11/04/2016Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown11/04/2016Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Peter Grant11/04/2016GlenrothesScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss11/04/2016Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Stewart McDonald11/04/2016Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Peter Bottomley11/04/2016Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Mark Durkan11/04/2016FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
David Simpson11/04/2016Upper BannDUPSigned
Martyn Day11/04/2016Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Alan Meale11/04/2016MansfieldLabourSigned
Owen Thompson12/04/2016MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Doughty12/04/2016Cardiff South and PenarthLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie12/04/2016South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Kelvin Hopkins12/04/2016Luton NorthLabourSigned
Greg Mulholland12/04/2016Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Monaghan12/04/2016Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens13/04/2016Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Virendra Sharma13/04/2016Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Angus MacNeil13/04/2016Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Paul Flynn14/04/2016Newport WestLabourSigned
Marion Fellows14/04/2016Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
Angela Crawley18/04/2016Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned
Roger Godsiff19/04/2016Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham19/04/2016Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas19/04/2016Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Stephen Gethins20/04/2016North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Lady Hermon20/04/2016North DownIndependentSigned
Alasdair McDonnell21/04/2016Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Yasmin Qureshi25/04/2016Bolton South EastLabourSigned
John Nicolson25/04/2016East DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
John McNally25/04/2016FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Valerie Vaz03/05/2016Walsall SouthLabourSigned
Tasmina Sheikh09/05/2016Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.