Parliament Website

Calling Time On Nuisance Calls

EDM number 223 in 2015-16, proposed by Patricia Gibson on 30/06/2015.
Categorised under the topics of Consumers, Data protection, Regulation and Telecommunications.

That this House recognises that too many members of the public are bombarded with nuisance calls and texts which is a huge issue of concern; is aware that the Which? campaign, Calling Time on Nuisance Calls and Texts, found that eight in 10 people said that cold calls were an annoying interruption to their daily lives and one third saying they have felt intimidated by them, with more than half of people (56 per cent) saying that they had been discouraged from picking up their landline telephone when it rings owing to cold calls; recalls that following this campaign the Government published its Action Plan to tackle the issue and a subsequent Which?-led taskforce was established; supports the series of recommendations this taskforce set out for the Government, regulators and businesses, including introducing legislation to make senior executives more responsible for the actions of their company; calls on the Government to introduce mandatory caller line identification for all marketing calls to enable consumers to more easily report an unwanted caller or to contact the company and request to be removed from their database; and further calls on the Government to look at whether the rules around how our data is collected, used and traded needs to be tightened so that the right balance can be struck between enabling decent businesses to carry out direct marketing activity where consumers have given their consent for their personal data to be used, and preventing the abuse of their privacy by unscrupulous businesses.

This motion has been signed by a total of 63 MPs.

Patricia Gibson30/06/2015North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartyProposed
Eilidh Whiteford30/06/2015Banff and BuchanScottish National PartySeconded
Margaret Ferrier30/06/2015Rutherglen and Hamilton WestScottish National PartySeconded
Stewart McDonald30/06/2015Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySeconded
Gavin Newlands30/06/2015Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySeconded
Anne McLaughlin30/06/2015Glasgow North EastScottish National PartySeconded
Tommy Sheppard30/06/2015Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss30/06/2015Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law30/06/2015Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Marion Fellows30/06/2015Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
Peter Grant30/06/2015GlenrothesScottish National PartySigned
Angela Crawley30/06/2015Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Cowan30/06/2015InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Ian Blackford30/06/2015Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Brendan O'Hara30/06/2015Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil30/06/2015Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens30/06/2015Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Neil Gray30/06/2015Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Patrick Grady30/06/2015Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Roger Mullin30/06/2015Kirkcaldy and CowdenbeathScottish National PartySigned
Deidre Brock30/06/2015Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySigned
Natalie McGarry30/06/2015Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell30/06/2015LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Joanna Cherry30/06/2015Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry01/07/2015Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan01/07/2015Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Richard Arkless01/07/2015Dumfries and GallowayScottish National PartySigned
Alan Meale01/07/2015MansfieldLabourSigned
David Anderson01/07/2015BlaydonLabourSigned
Lisa Cameron01/07/2015East Kilbride, Strathaven and LesmahagowScottish National PartySigned
Michael Weir01/07/2015AngusScottish National PartySigned
Stuart Donaldson01/07/2015West Aberdeenshire and KincardineScottish National PartySigned
Jeremy Corbyn01/07/2015Islington NorthLabourSigned
Jim Shannon01/07/2015StrangfordDUPSigned
David Simpson01/07/2015Upper BannDUPSigned
Tasmina Sheikh02/07/2015Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Kirsty Blackman02/07/2015Aberdeen NorthScottish National PartySigned
George Kerevan02/07/2015East LothianScottish National PartySigned
Rachael Maskell02/07/2015York CentralLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Jim Cunningham02/07/2015Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Lady Hermon06/07/2015North DownIndependentSigned
Kelvin Hopkins06/07/2015Luton NorthLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff06/07/2015Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Liz Saville Roberts06/07/2015Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Owen Thompson06/07/2015MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Mark Williams06/07/2015CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Martyn Day06/07/2015Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Paul Monaghan06/07/2015Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySigned
Gregory Campbell07/07/2015East LondonderryDUPSigned
Michelle Thomson07/07/2015Edinburgh WestScottish National PartySigned
Kirsten Oswald07/07/2015East RenfrewshireScottish National PartySigned
Martin Docherty07/07/2015West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Grahame Morris07/07/2015EasingtonLabourSigned
Julian Lewis08/07/2015New Forest EastConservativeSigned
Alex Salmond09/07/2015Signed
Danny Kinahan13/07/2015South AntrimUUPSigned
Callum McCaig13/07/2015Aberdeen SouthScottish National PartySigned
Philippa Whitford13/07/2015Central AyrshireScottish National PartySigned
Corri Wilson15/07/2015Ayr, Carrick and CumnockScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown21/07/2015Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Mhairi Black21/07/2015Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
John Pugh25/11/2015SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Caroline Lucas23/02/2016Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.