Parliament Website

Free Speech In Bahrain

EDM number 241 in 2015-16, proposed by Angus MacNeil on 02/07/2015.
Categorised under the topics of Human rights and Middle East.

That this House expresses severe concerns about the ongoing restrictions against free speech in Bahrain; notes the recent findings by Amnesty International and Human Rights Watch of reprisals against individuals exercising their right to free speech in Bahrain, including the continued ban on protests and rallies and the systematic use of torture and other cruel and degrading treatment; condemns the harassment, intimidation, detention and sentencing of human rights defender Nabeel Rajab to six months' imprisonment for a tweet critical of the Ministries of Interior and Defence; is concerned at the current trial of Mr Rajab for tweets that may lead to 10 years' imprisonment; is alarmed at the deterioration of the political climate in Bahrain and the crackdown on political dissent and fundamental freedoms in that country; calls on the government of Bahrain to release all political prisoners and those imprisoned for their right to freedom of expression; and urges the Foreign and Commonwealth Office to re-evaluate its assistance to Bahrain in light of these ongoing violations and to implement the recommendations of the Foreign Affairs Committee in its First Report of Session 2013-14, HC88, by listing Bahrain as a country of concern in its upcoming human rights report.

This motion has been signed by a total of 44 MPs.

Angus MacNeil02/07/2015Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartyProposed
Martyn Day06/07/2015Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
Peter Bottomley06/07/2015Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Jonathan Edwards06/07/2015Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSeconded
Stuart Donaldson06/07/2015West Aberdeenshire and KincardineScottish National PartySeconded
Liz Saville Roberts06/07/2015Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins06/07/2015Luton NorthLabourSigned
Mark Durkan06/07/2015FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Jim Shannon06/07/2015StrangfordDUPSigned
Gerald Kaufman06/07/2015Manchester, GortonLabourSigned
Patricia Gibson06/07/2015North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartySigned
Roger Godsiff06/07/2015Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Grahame Morris07/07/2015EasingtonLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma07/07/2015Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Kirsten Oswald07/07/2015East RenfrewshireScottish National PartySigned
David Simpson07/07/2015Upper BannDUPSigned
Margaret Ritchie07/07/2015South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Chris Stephens07/07/2015Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Patrick Grady07/07/2015Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Phil Boswell07/07/2015Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillScottish National PartySigned
Michelle Thomson07/07/2015Edinburgh WestScottish National PartySigned
Michael Weir07/07/2015AngusScottish National PartySigned
Alan Meale07/07/2015MansfieldLabourSigned
Carol Monaghan08/07/2015Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Helen Goodman08/07/2015Bishop AucklandLabourSigned
Gavin Robinson08/07/2015Belfast EastDUPSigned
Ronnie Campbell08/07/2015Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn09/07/2015Islington NorthLabourSigned
Gavin Newlands09/07/2015Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Rachael Maskell13/07/2015York CentralLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Chris Law13/07/2015Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Mark Williams14/07/2015CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Harry Harpham14/07/2015Sheffield, Brightside and HillsboroughLabourSigned
Kate Osamor14/07/2015EdmontonLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Jim Cunningham15/07/2015Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Hywel Williams20/07/2015ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Sarah Champion21/07/2015RotherhamLabourSigned
Mhairi Black21/07/2015Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown21/07/2015Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Stuart McDonald07/09/2015Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned
Fabian Hamilton07/09/2015Leeds North EastLabourSigned
Drew Hendry07/09/2015Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Emily Thornberry08/09/2015Islington South and FinsburyLabourSigned
Alison Thewliss12/10/2015Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.