Parliament Website

Conflict In Sudan And South Sudan

EDM number 277 in 2015-16, proposed by Mark Durkan on 08/07/2015.
Categorised under the topics of Africa, Human rights, International politics and government and Military operations.

That this House is deeply concerned about ongoing conflict, humanitarian crises and human rights challenges in Sudan and South Sudan; notes the UK's important contribution to the 2005 Comprehensive Peace Agreement that ended one of Africa's longest running civil wars and led to the secession of South Sudan; is gravely concerned that conflict now rages in both Sudan and South Sudan whilst issues between the two countries remain unresolved; is alarmed that in both countries, millions are displaced and humanitarian conditions are some of the worst in the world, despite substantial support from the UK; takes a long-term view of the wider challenges facing the two countries, including the outstanding issues between Sudan and South Sudan; and calls on the UK to continue and expand its humanitarian and diplomatic efforts to support the people of Sudan and South Sudan in their search for peace, reconciliation and justice.

This motion has been signed by a total of 43 MPs.

Mark Durkan08/07/2015FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartyProposed
Andrew Mitchell08/07/2015Sutton ColdfieldConservativeSeconded
Jo Cox08/07/2015Batley and SpenLabourSeconded
Michael Weir09/07/2015AngusScottish National PartySeconded
Alan Meale09/07/2015MansfieldLabourSeconded
Jim Shannon09/07/2015StrangfordDUPSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn09/07/2015Islington NorthLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley09/07/2015Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Kelvin Hopkins09/07/2015Luton NorthLabourSigned
Chris Law13/07/2015Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Margaret Ritchie13/07/2015South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Ian Blackford13/07/2015Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Kirsten Oswald13/07/2015East RenfrewshireScottish National PartySigned
Joanna Cherry13/07/2015Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day13/07/2015Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
David Anderson14/07/2015BlaydonLabourSigned
Alex Salmond14/07/2015Signed
Roger Godsiff14/07/2015Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Lady Hermon14/07/2015North DownIndependentSigned
John McDonnell14/07/2015Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Ian Lavery14/07/2015WansbeckLabourSigned
Roger Mullin14/07/2015Kirkcaldy and CowdenbeathScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens14/07/2015Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Mark Williams14/07/2015CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson14/07/2015Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
Corri Wilson15/07/2015Ayr, Carrick and CumnockScottish National PartySigned
Patrick Grady15/07/2015Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Paul Flynn15/07/2015Newport WestLabourSigned
Nigel Evans15/07/2015Ribble ValleyConservativeSigned
John Mann15/07/2015BassetlawLabourSigned
Stuart Donaldson15/07/2015West Aberdeenshire and KincardineScottish National PartySigned
Neil Gray16/07/2015Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan16/07/2015Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Liz McInnes16/07/2015Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Stephen Gethins16/07/2015North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Natalie McGarry20/07/2015Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Caroline Lucas20/07/2015Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Alan Brown20/07/2015Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Hywel Williams20/07/2015ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Alasdair McDonnell21/07/2015Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Rachael Maskell07/09/2015York CentralLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Angus Robertson16/09/2015MorayScottish National PartySigned
Angela Crawley11/05/2016Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.