Parliament Website

Sikh Soldiers In The First World War

EDM number 44 in 2015-16, proposed by Virendra Kumar Sharma on 27/05/2015.
Categorised under the topics of Military operations, Religion and faith communities and Veterans.

That this House notes the contribution of Sikh soldiers in the First World War, when over 138,000 Indian troops fought in Belgium and France, many of them Sikh; recognises that more than one-quarter of these soldiers would become casualties; further notes that in March 1915, one hundred years ago Sikh troops, along with counterparts from around the British Empire, fought in the bloody battle of Neuve Chapelle, many making the ultimate sacrifice; further recognises that Sikh regiments lost nearly four-fifths of their men, and three regiments stood at only 16 per cent of their original strength; and urges the Government to support the erection of a permanent monument in central London to highlight and commemorate their brave actions and grave losses.

This motion has been signed by a total of 46 MPs.

Virendra Sharma27/05/2015Ealing, SouthallLabourProposed
Peter Bottomley27/05/2015Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Angus MacNeil28/05/2015Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySeconded
John McDonnell28/05/2015Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
John Mann28/05/2015BassetlawLabourSeconded
Gordon Marsden01/06/2015Blackpool SouthLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins01/06/2015Luton NorthLabourSigned
Martyn Day01/06/2015Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Grahame Morris01/06/2015EasingtonLabourSigned
Jim Shannon01/06/2015StrangfordDUPSigned
Bob Blackman01/06/2015Harrow EastConservativeSigned
Andrew Rosindell01/06/2015RomfordConservativeSigned
Mike Gapes02/06/2015Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Rupa Huq02/06/2015Ealing Central and ActonLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff02/06/2015Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn02/06/2015Islington NorthLabourSigned
Michael Weir02/06/2015AngusScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Robinson02/06/2015Belfast EastDUPSigned
David Simpson02/06/2015Upper BannDUPSigned
Sammy Wilson03/06/2015East AntrimDUPSigned
Alasdair McDonnell03/06/2015Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson03/06/2015Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
Ronnie Campbell03/06/2015Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Lady Hermon03/06/2015North DownIndependentSigned
Liz Saville Roberts03/06/2015Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Jonathan Edwards03/06/2015Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Hywel Williams03/06/2015ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Chris Law03/06/2015Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Paul Flynn04/06/2015Newport WestLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham04/06/2015Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Julian Lewis04/06/2015New Forest EastConservativeSigned
Mary Glindon04/06/2015North TynesideLabourSigned
Liz McInnes04/06/2015Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
David Anderson04/06/2015BlaydonLabourSigned
Ruth Cadbury08/06/2015Brentford and IsleworthLabourSigned
Alex Salmond08/06/2015Signed
Alan Brown09/06/2015Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins09/06/2015North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
James Gray10/06/2015North WiltshireConservativeSigned
David Crausby10/06/2015Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Fiona Mactaggart11/06/2015SloughLabourSigned
Andrew McDonald15/06/2015MiddlesbroughLabourSigned
Rachael Maskell16/06/2015York CentralLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Steve Rotheram18/06/2015Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Yasmin Qureshi02/07/2015Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Ruth Smeeth09/09/2015Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.