Parliament Website

Release Of Pastor Abedini In Iran

EDM number 511 in 2015-16, proposed by Jim Shannon on 13/10/2015.
Categorised under the topics of Iran, Prisons and Religion and faith communities.

That this House requests the immediate release of Pastor Abedini and other Christians, Behnam Irani, Maryam Naseem, Naghash-Zargaran, Ebrahim Firouzi and Ata Babaei, detained in Iran for no reason other than the peaceful exercise of their Christian faith; expresses concern that seven Baha'i leaders, Mrs Fariba Kamalabadi, Mr Jamaloddin Khanjani, Mr Afif Naeimi, Mr Saeid Rezaie, Mrs Mahvash Sabet, Mr Behrouz Tavakkoli and Mr Vahid Tizfahm were sentenced in 2008; and calls for Iran to be obliged to adhere to Article 18 of the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights, which guarantees freedom of religion and belief for everyone.

This motion has been signed by a total of 25 MPs.

Jim Shannon13/10/2015StrangfordDUPProposed
Mark Durkan13/10/2015FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Martyn Day14/10/2015Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
David Simpson14/10/2015Upper BannDUPSeconded
Gavin Robinson14/10/2015Belfast EastDUPSeconded
Bob Blackman14/10/2015Harrow EastConservativeSeconded
Alan Meale14/10/2015MansfieldLabourSigned
Tom Elliott15/10/2015Fermanagh and South TyroneUUPSigned
Mary Glindon15/10/2015North TynesideLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds15/10/2015Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Mark Williams15/10/2015CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Gordon Marsden16/10/2015Blackpool SouthLabourSigned
Martin Docherty19/10/2015West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown19/10/2015Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Margaret Ritchie20/10/2015South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Brendan O'Hara20/10/2015Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Julian Lewis20/10/2015New Forest EastConservativeSigned
Chris Law20/10/2015Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Lady Hermon20/10/2015North DownIndependentSigned
Michael Weir21/10/2015AngusScottish National PartySigned
Roger Mullin21/10/2015Kirkcaldy and CowdenbeathScottish National PartySigned
Kelvin Hopkins21/10/2015Luton NorthLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham21/10/2015Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Carol Monaghan22/10/2015Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson22/10/2015Lagan ValleyDUPSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.