Parliament Website

Counterfeit Electrical Goods

EDM number 754 in 2015-16, proposed by Jim Fitzpatrick on 24/11/2015.
Categorised under the topics of Charities, Consumers, Death, Electricity, Internet and cybercrime, Manufacturing industries and Standards.

That this House recognises the work of Electrical Safety First, a charity dedicated to preventing deaths, injuries and damage caused by electricity in the home, in raising awareness of people being put at risk by thousands of potentially dangerous counterfeit electrical products on sale via the internet and in local communities; notes that sales of illegal counterfeit electrical goods have grown by 12 per cent in the last 12 months; further notes research commissioned by Electrical Safety First that over one million people in the UK have bought a counterfeit electrical product in the last 12 months; notes that counterfeit electrical products often contain faulty parts, which can cause electric shocks and overheating and can catch fire, contributing to nearly 6,000 house fires; and calls on the Government to assess and tackle the number of dangerous counterfeit electrical goods being sold via the internet in the UK.

This motion has been signed by a total of 30 MPs.

Jim Fitzpatrick24/11/2015Poplar and LimehouseLabourProposed
Mark Durkan24/11/2015FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Margaret Ritchie25/11/2015South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Ronnie Campbell25/11/2015Blyth ValleyLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins25/11/2015Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Alan Meale25/11/2015MansfieldLabourSeconded
Martyn Day25/11/2015Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Jim Shannon25/11/2015StrangfordDUPSigned
Bob Blackman25/11/2015Harrow EastConservativeSigned
Nigel Dodds25/11/2015Belfast NorthDUPSigned
John McNally25/11/2015FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens25/11/2015Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss26/11/2015Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Mary Glindon26/11/2015North TynesideLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell26/11/2015Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Chris Law26/11/2015Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
David Simpson26/11/2015Upper BannDUPSigned
Paul Monaghan30/11/2015Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySigned
Carolyn Harris30/11/2015Swansea EastLabourSigned
Gerald Jones30/11/2015Merthyr Tydfil and RhymneyLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff01/12/2015Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Yasmin Qureshi02/12/2015Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Lady Hermon02/12/2015North DownIndependentSigned
Mhairi Black10/12/2015Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Cowan10/12/2015InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Corri Wilson14/12/2015Ayr, Carrick and CumnockScottish National PartySigned
Rosie Cooper14/12/2015West LancashireLabourSigned
Norman Lamb07/01/2016North NorfolkLiberal DemocratSigned
Ann Clwyd11/01/2016Cynon ValleyLabourSigned
David Crausby27/04/2016Bolton North EastLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.