Parliament Website

Christians Against Poverty Report On Prepayment Meters

EDM number 865 in 2015-16, proposed by Siobhain McDonagh on 14/12/2015.
Categorised under the topics of Charities, Energy, Fuel poverty, Incomes and poverty and Religion and faith communities.

That this House welcomes the new report, The Poor Pay More, published by Christians Against Poverty, a charity which helps thousands of people each year struggling with unmanageable debt; acknowledges the report's conclusion that people using pre-payment meters (PPMs), which are used by 39 per cent of CAP's clients, are being forced to pay more on their energy bills because they are unable to access the same tariffs as people who pay their energy bills by credit, and that there are 266,000 households in arrears on their PPM who will self-limit their energy use this winter; endorses the report's recommendations, particularly that PPM users should access the same tariffs as monthly direct debit customers, that accountability structures that place a responsibility on energy suppliers to act on those who self-disconnect should be established, and that awareness about standing charges amongst consumers should be raised; and therefore encourages the Government to pursue reform in this area and support vulnerable people who use PPMs.

This motion has been signed by a total of 39 MPs.

Siobhain McDonagh14/12/2015Mitcham and MordenLabourProposed
David Simpson15/12/2015Upper BannDUPSeconded
Jim Cunningham15/12/2015Coventry SouthLabourSeconded
Jim Shannon15/12/2015StrangfordDUPSeconded
Mark Durkan15/12/2015FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Marie Rimmer15/12/2015St Helens South and WhistonLabourSeconded
Margaret Ritchie15/12/2015South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Alison Thewliss15/12/2015Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Timms15/12/2015East HamLabourSigned
Ruth Smeeth15/12/2015Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Martyn Day15/12/2015Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Margaret Ferrier15/12/2015Rutherglen and Hamilton WestScottish National PartySigned
Neil Gray16/12/2015Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Simon Danczuk16/12/2015RochdaleLabourSigned
Danny Kinahan16/12/2015South AntrimUUPSigned
Joan Ryan16/12/2015Signed
John McNally16/12/2015FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Lady Hermon16/12/2015North DownIndependentSigned
Ian Blackford16/12/2015Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Michael Weir16/12/2015AngusScottish National PartySigned
Gregory Campbell16/12/2015East LondonderryDUPSigned
Chris Law16/12/2015Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Nigel Dodds17/12/2015Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Patricia Gibson17/12/2015North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartySigned
Jim Dowd06/01/2016Lewisham West and PengeLabourSigned
Mark Williams06/01/2016CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Alex Salmond07/01/2016Signed
Gavin Robinson07/01/2016Belfast EastDUPSigned
Kevin Barron12/01/2016Rother ValleyLabourSigned
Gerald Jones12/01/2016Merthyr Tydfil and RhymneyLabourSigned
Neil Coyle18/01/2016Bermondsey and Old SouthwarkLabourSigned
Sammy Wilson25/01/2016East AntrimDUPSigned
Jamie Reed27/01/2016CopelandLabourSigned
Greg Mulholland02/02/2016Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Blomfield22/02/2016Sheffield CentralLabourSigned
Mhairi Black23/02/2016Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
John Spellar10/03/2016WarleyLabourSigned
Stuart Donaldson15/03/2016West Aberdeenshire and KincardineScottish National PartySigned
David Crausby27/04/2016Bolton North EastLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.