Parliament Website

Mesothelioma Research

EDM number 913 in 2015-16, proposed by Andrew McDonald on 05/01/2016.
Categorised under the topics of Diseases, Health services and Research and innovation.

That this House notes with concern that mesothelioma is an invasive form of lung cancer caused primarily by prior exposure to asbestos; recognises that there is currently no cure for this devastating disease and that mesothelioma patients frequently have a very short life expectancy and experience complex and debilitating symptoms; further notes that the UK has the highest rate of the disease in the world and that over the next 30 years more than 50,000 people will die of mesothelioma in the UK unless new treatments are found; believes that investment in research into the causes and potential cures for mesothelioma is desperately needed; and calls on the Government to facilitate the establishment of a long-term sustainable mesothelioma research scheme funded by the insurance.

This motion has been signed by a total of 52 MPs.

Andrew McDonald05/01/2016MiddlesbroughLabourProposed
Nick Brown05/01/2016Newcastle upon Tyne EastLabourSeconded
Steve Rotheram05/01/2016Liverpool, WaltonLabourSeconded
Margaret Ritchie05/01/2016South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Peter Bottomley05/01/2016Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Mark Durkan05/01/2016FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Ronnie Campbell06/01/2016Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma06/01/2016Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Mary Glindon06/01/2016North TynesideLabourSigned
Chris Stephens06/01/2016Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Lady Hermon06/01/2016North DownIndependentSigned
Alison Thewliss06/01/2016Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Kelvin Hopkins06/01/2016Luton NorthLabourSigned
Jim Shannon06/01/2016StrangfordDUPSigned
Alan Meale06/01/2016MansfieldLabourSigned
David Simpson06/01/2016Upper BannDUPSigned
Gregory Campbell06/01/2016East LondonderryDUPSigned
George Howarth06/01/2016KnowsleyLabourSigned
Gavin Robinson07/01/2016Belfast EastDUPSigned
Ruth Smeeth07/01/2016Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Jonathan Edwards07/01/2016Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Tommy Sheppard07/01/2016Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
Mark Williams07/01/2016CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Ian Blackford07/01/2016Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Kirsten Oswald07/01/2016East RenfrewshireScottish National PartySigned
Dennis Skinner07/01/2016BolsoverLabourSigned
Chris Law07/01/2016Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Alasdair McDonnell11/01/2016Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Martin Docherty11/01/2016West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Hepburn11/01/2016JarrowLabourSigned
Keith Vaz11/01/2016Leicester EastLabourSigned
Brendan O'Hara11/01/2016Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Paul Monaghan12/01/2016Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySigned
Jim Cunningham12/01/2016Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Natalie McGarry12/01/2016Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
John McNally12/01/2016FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Deidre Brock12/01/2016Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySigned
John Cryer13/01/2016Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Carol Monaghan14/01/2016Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Tom Elliott18/01/2016Fermanagh and South TyroneUUPSigned
Yasmin Qureshi21/01/2016Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff21/01/2016Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Jim Fitzpatrick01/02/2016Poplar and LimehouseLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas01/02/2016Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Ronnie Cowan02/02/2016InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Roger Mullin02/02/2016Kirkcaldy and CowdenbeathScottish National PartySigned
Ian Mearns10/02/2016GatesheadLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds11/02/2016Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Huw Irranca-Davies29/02/2016OgmoreLabourSigned
Stephen Twigg16/03/2016Liverpool, West DerbyLabourSigned
Chris Evans11/04/2016IslwynLabourSigned
David Crausby27/04/2016Bolton North EastLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.