Parliament Website

Thirtieth Anniversary Of Martin Luther King Day

EDM number 966 in 2015-16, proposed by Anne McLaughlin on 14/01/2016.
Categorised under the topics of Cultural heritage, Human rights and North America.

That this House takes note of the thirtieth anniversary of the Dr Martin Luther King Jr. US federal holiday, on the third Monday in every January which is in recognition of his lifetime of achievements; recognises Dr King as one of history's greatest civil rights campaigners; acknowledges the sixtieth anniversary of the Montgomery bus boycott against segregation which brought Dr King to global prominence; pays tribute to all those ordinary men and women who stood firm alongside Dr King; and commends those UK institutions marking Martin Luther King Day on 18 January 2016, thus honouring Dr King's legacy and philosophy of non-violence.

This motion has been signed by a total of 57 MPs.

Anne McLaughlin14/01/2016Glasgow North EastScottish National PartyProposed
Ronnie Cowan14/01/2016InverclydeScottish National PartySeconded
Peter Grant14/01/2016GlenrothesScottish National PartySeconded
Patricia Gibson14/01/2016North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartySeconded
Drew Hendry14/01/2016Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySeconded
Kirsten Oswald14/01/2016East RenfrewshireScottish National PartySeconded
Brendan O'Hara14/01/2016Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day14/01/2016Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Ian Blackford14/01/2016Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Margaret Ferrier14/01/2016Rutherglen and Hamilton WestScottish National PartySigned
Stuart McDonald14/01/2016Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned
Stewart McDonald14/01/2016Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss14/01/2016Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
George Kerevan14/01/2016East LothianScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens14/01/2016Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Neil Gray14/01/2016Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Paul Monaghan14/01/2016Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySigned
Natalie McGarry14/01/2016Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Martin Docherty14/01/2016West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Dennis Skinner18/01/2016BolsoverLabourSigned
Lady Hermon18/01/2016North DownIndependentSigned
Margaret Ritchie18/01/2016South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Roger Mullin18/01/2016Kirkcaldy and CowdenbeathScottish National PartySigned
Angela Crawley18/01/2016Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned
Jonathan Edwards18/01/2016Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Mark Durkan18/01/2016FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Jim Shannon19/01/2016StrangfordDUPSigned
Peter Bottomley19/01/2016Worthing WestConservativeSigned
John McNally19/01/2016FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Virendra Sharma19/01/2016Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Ian Mearns19/01/2016GatesheadLabourSigned
Lisa Cameron19/01/2016East Kilbride, Strathaven and LesmahagowScottish National PartySigned
Patrick Grady19/01/2016Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Tommy Sheppard19/01/2016Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
Jim Cunningham19/01/2016Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Eilidh Whiteford20/01/2016Banff and BuchanScottish National PartySigned
Mhairi Black20/01/2016Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Roger Godsiff20/01/2016Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell20/01/2016Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Bob Blackman20/01/2016Harrow EastConservativeSigned
Alasdair McDonnell20/01/2016Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Gavin Newlands20/01/2016Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Keith Vaz20/01/2016Leicester EastLabourSigned
Chris Law21/01/2016Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Joanna Cherry21/01/2016Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Steven Paterson22/01/2016StirlingScottish National PartySigned
Michael Weir22/01/2016AngusScottish National PartySigned
Philippa Whitford22/01/2016Central AyrshireScottish National PartySigned
Deidre Brock22/01/2016Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySigned
John Nicolson22/01/2016East DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Yasmin Qureshi25/01/2016Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Gavin Robinson25/01/2016Belfast EastDUPSigned
Tasmina Sheikh01/02/2016Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Tom Brake02/02/2016Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Corri Wilson04/02/2016Ayr, Carrick and CumnockScottish National PartySigned
Valerie Vaz08/02/2016Walsall SouthLabourSigned
Owen Thompson10/02/2016MidlothianScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.