Parliament Website

Access To Elected Office Fund

EDM number 999 in 2015-16, proposed by Caroline Lucas on 22/01/2016.
Categorised under the topics of Elections and Equality.

That this House notes that disabled people are still under-represented in politics; further notes that a strong democracy is an inclusive one; is concerned that the UK needs to do more to encourage a diverse mix of local, regional and national election candidates that better reflects the society we live in; regrets the time taken to date to evaluate the pilot Access to Elected Office Fund since its closure in May 2015; notes the Equality and Human Rights Commission's September 2015 recommendation that the Government reopens the Fund in England, and works with the Scottish and Welsh Governments to explore options for making the scheme, or similar funds, available across the UK; and calls on the Government to act on that recommendation as a matter or urgency, so as to benefit disabled candidates planning to stand in local and regional elections in May 2016.

This motion has been signed by a total of 41 MPs.

Caroline Lucas22/01/2016Brighton, PavilionGreenProposed
Neil Coyle22/01/2016Bermondsey and Old SouthwarkLabourSeconded
Angela Crawley22/01/2016Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySeconded
Alistair Carmichael22/01/2016Orkney and ShetlandLiberal DemocratSeconded
Liz Saville Roberts22/01/2016Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSeconded
Phil Boswell25/01/2016Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillScottish National PartySeconded
Martyn Day25/01/2016Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Lady Hermon25/01/2016North DownIndependentSigned
Angus MacNeil26/01/2016Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Jim Cunningham26/01/2016Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Chris Stephens26/01/2016Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss26/01/2016Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Peter Bottomley26/01/2016Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Keith Vaz26/01/2016Leicester EastLabourSigned
Mhairi Black26/01/2016Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law26/01/2016Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Kirsty Blackman26/01/2016Aberdeen NorthScottish National PartySigned
Margaret Ferrier26/01/2016Rutherglen and Hamilton WestScottish National PartySigned
Ruth Smeeth26/01/2016Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Eilidh Whiteford27/01/2016Banff and BuchanScottish National PartySigned
Deidre Brock27/01/2016Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySigned
Mark Durkan27/01/2016FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Patrick Grady27/01/2016Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Campbell27/01/2016Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Michael Weir27/01/2016AngusScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Cowan27/01/2016InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Kirsten Oswald27/01/2016East RenfrewshireScottish National PartySigned
John Nicolson28/01/2016East DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Mary Glindon28/01/2016North TynesideLabourSigned
Steven Paterson28/01/2016StirlingScottish National PartySigned
Neil Gray28/01/2016Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Margaret Ritchie28/01/2016South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Greg Mulholland28/01/2016Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Tasmina Sheikh01/02/2016Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Joanna Cherry01/02/2016Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Mark Williams01/02/2016CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
George Kerevan01/02/2016East LothianScottish National PartySigned
Tom Brake02/02/2016Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Norman Lamb10/02/2016North NorfolkLiberal DemocratSigned
John Pugh11/02/2016SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Hywel Williams25/02/2016ArfonPlaid CymruSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.