Parliament Website

World TB Day 2017

EDM number 1070 in 2016-17, proposed by Virendra Kumar Sharma on 15/03/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Communicable diseases, Health education and preventive medicine, Health services and Medicine.

That this House recognises that 24 March 2017 marks World TB Day; notes that TB is the world's leading infectious killer, resulting in 1.8 million deaths per year; commends the Government's efforts to address TB at home through the introduction of the first Collaborative TB Strategy for England in 2015, and abroad through its significant contribution to the Global Fund to Fight AIDS, TB and Malaria in 2016; further notes, however, that new tools are urgently needed to end the epidemic and that without research and development for TB diagnostics, drugs and vaccines, the Sustainable Development Goals target to the TB epidemic by 2030 will not be met; further recognises that the long course of TB treatment and the side effects it can entail are a major driver of the epidemic and exacerbate the issue of drug-resistant TB; notes that the independent Review on Antimicrobial Resistance found that if left unaddressed by 2050, drug-resistant TB will be responsible for a quarter of antimicrobial deaths with cumulative economic costs of 16.7 trillion US dollars; notes that the review called for TB and drug-resistant TB to be at the heart of any global action on antimicrobial resistance; recognises that TB could be used as a pathfinder for developing antibiotics to address antimicrobial resistance and that TB drugs are often used to treat other infections; and calls on the Government to work with partners to secure the development of the new tools that are needed to end the TB epidemic.

This motion has been signed by a total of 36 MPs.

Virendra Sharma15/03/2017Ealing, SouthallLabourProposed
Mark Durkan15/03/2017FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Peter Bottomley15/03/2017Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Alan Mak16/03/2017HavantConservativeSeconded
Chris Stephens16/03/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySeconded
Kelvin Hopkins16/03/2017Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Patrick Grady16/03/2017Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Roger Mullin20/03/2017Kirkcaldy and CowdenbeathScottish National PartySigned
Margaret Ritchie20/03/2017South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Alan Brown20/03/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Ian Blackford20/03/2017Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
John McNally20/03/2017FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Phil Boswell20/03/2017Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillScottish National PartySigned
Neil Gray20/03/2017Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil20/03/2017Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Alex Salmond20/03/2017Signed
Jim Fitzpatrick20/03/2017Poplar and LimehouseLabourSigned
Tom Brake20/03/2017Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Cunningham20/03/2017Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Alan Meale20/03/2017MansfieldLabourSigned
Hannah Bardell20/03/2017LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Mark Williams21/03/2017CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Chris Law21/03/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Paul Monaghan21/03/2017Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySigned
Michael Weir21/03/2017AngusScottish National PartySigned
Jeremy Lefroy21/03/2017StaffordConservativeSigned
Drew Hendry22/03/2017Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Jim Shannon22/03/2017StrangfordDUPSigned
Carol Monaghan22/03/2017Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Owen Thompson22/03/2017MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Tommy Sheppard22/03/2017Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
Lady Hermon22/03/2017North DownIndependentSigned
John Nicolson24/03/2017East DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Joanna Cherry29/03/2017Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Rachael Maskell30/03/2017York CentralLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Bob Blackman30/03/2017Harrow EastConservativeSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.