Parliament Website

Legal Recognition For People Who Do Not Associate With A Particular Gender

EDM number 11 in 2016-17, proposed by Norman Lamb on 18/05/2016.
Categorised under the topics of Gender recognition and Nationality.

That this House recognises the support expressed during the 2015-16 parliamentary session to address the issues faced by people whose identities are neither male nor female; believes that people are compromised and diminished as a result of inappropriate gender references on their personal identity information; acknowledges that all passports issued by HM Passport Office are currently gender-specific and it is therefore not possible to obtain a British passport that contains no reference to gendered identity; understands that the International Civil Aviation Organisation standard specification for machine-readable travel documents, ICAO Document 9303, permits X (unspecified) alongside F (female) and M (male) under a mandatory sex category; notes that citizens of Australia and New Zealand are able to obtain a non gender-specific X passport and that India, Nepal and Pakistan make provision for their citizens when neither M nor F are appropriate; further believes that similar provision is needed in the UK where current discriminatory policy denies non-gendered and bi-gendered people a legitimate identity; and therefore urges the Government and HM Passport Office to make non gender-specific X passports available in the UK to people who do not identify with a particular gender.

This motion has been signed by a total of 86 MPs.

Norman Lamb18/05/2016North NorfolkLiberal DemocratProposed
Peter Bottomley18/05/2016Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Alison Thewliss18/05/2016Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySeconded
Roger Mullin19/05/2016Kirkcaldy and CowdenbeathScottish National PartySeconded
Paul Monaghan19/05/2016Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySeconded
Kirsten Oswald19/05/2016East RenfrewshireScottish National PartySeconded
Natalie McGarry19/05/2016Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Marie Rimmer19/05/2016St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Martin Docherty19/05/2016West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Liz Saville Roberts19/05/2016Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Caroline Lucas19/05/2016Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Martyn Day23/05/2016Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
John McNally23/05/2016FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Helen Goodman23/05/2016Bishop AucklandLabourSigned
Danny Kinahan23/05/2016South AntrimUUPSigned
Alan Meale23/05/2016MansfieldLabourSigned
John Nicolson23/05/2016East DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Stuart McDonald23/05/2016Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned
Ruth Cadbury23/05/2016Brentford and IsleworthLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell23/05/2016Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Eilidh Whiteford23/05/2016Banff and BuchanScottish National PartySigned
Alistair Carmichael23/05/2016Orkney and ShetlandLiberal DemocratSigned
Angus MacNeil24/05/2016Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
George Howarth24/05/2016KnowsleyLabourSigned
Frank Field24/05/2016BirkenheadLabourSigned
Owen Thompson24/05/2016MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Rupa Huq24/05/2016Ealing Central and ActonLabourSigned
Michelle Thomson24/05/2016Edinburgh WestScottish National PartySigned
Paul Flynn24/05/2016Newport WestLabourSigned
Joanna Cherry25/05/2016Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Neil Gray25/05/2016Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Greg Mulholland25/05/2016Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Marion Fellows25/05/2016Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
Deidre Brock26/05/2016Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySigned
Tasmina Sheikh06/06/2016Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Calum Kerr06/06/2016Berwickshire, Roxburgh and SelkirkScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell06/06/2016LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Louise Ellman06/06/2016Liverpool, RiversideLabourSigned
Chris Law06/06/2016Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown08/06/2016Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
David Lammy08/06/2016TottenhamLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff08/06/2016Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Angela Crawley08/06/2016Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned
Richard Arkless08/06/2016Dumfries and GallowayScottish National PartySigned
Jamie Reed09/06/2016CopelandLabourSigned
Nick Brown09/06/2016Newcastle upon Tyne EastLabourSigned
Pete Wishart13/06/2016Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Crispin Blunt15/06/2016ReigateConservativeSigned
Margaret Ferrier28/06/2016Rutherglen and Hamilton WestScottish National PartySigned
Colleen Fletcher28/06/2016Coventry North EastLabourSigned
Tommy Sheppard28/06/2016Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Cowan29/06/2016InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Stewart McDonald29/06/2016Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Mhairi Black04/07/2016Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Phil Boswell13/07/2016Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillScottish National PartySigned
John Cryer20/07/2016Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Mark Durkan21/07/2016FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Mark Williams05/09/2016CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Tom Brake05/09/2016Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Hywel Williams08/09/2016ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Wes Streeting13/09/2016Ilford NorthLabourSigned
Mark Hendrick14/09/2016PrestonLabourSigned
Neil Coyle10/10/2016Bermondsey and Old SouthwarkLabourSigned
Callum McCaig13/10/2016Aberdeen SouthScottish National PartySigned
Jonathan Edwards03/11/2016Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Jim Cunningham07/12/2016Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Michael Weir07/12/2016AngusScottish National PartySigned
Kelvin Hopkins08/12/2016Luton NorthLabourSigned
Gavin Newlands08/12/2016Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Philippa Whitford20/12/2016Central AyrshireScottish National PartySigned
Ian Mearns09/01/2017GatesheadLabourSigned
Kevin Barron09/01/2017Rother ValleyLabourSigned
Chris Bryant19/01/2017RhonddaLabourSigned
Stephen Doughty25/01/2017Cardiff South and PenarthLabourSigned
David Crausby31/01/2017Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Peter Grant06/02/2017GlenrothesScottish National PartySigned
Corri Wilson06/02/2017Ayr, Carrick and CumnockScottish National PartySigned
Kate Green01/03/2017Stretford and UrmstonLabourSigned
Clive Lewis02/03/2017Norwich SouthLabourSigned
Drew Hendry13/03/2017Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Stuart Donaldson13/03/2017West Aberdeenshire and KincardineScottish National PartySigned
Lady Hermon13/03/2017North DownIndependentSigned
Stewart Hosie16/03/2017Dundee EastScottish National PartySigned
Kirsty Blackman24/03/2017Aberdeen NorthScottish National PartySigned
Vernon Coaker28/03/2017GedlingLabourSigned
Clive Betts20/04/2017Sheffield South EastLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.