Parliament Website

Local News Matters

EDM number 1109 in 2016-17, proposed by Helen Goodman on 23/03/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Broadcasting and Press.

That this House celebrates the importance of quality local and regional news and whether provided online, by photographers, newspapers or local broadcasters; believes that access to local and regional news is essential to the quality of life, informed citizenship, and promotion of a flourishing of democracy in all our communities; recognises the challenges posed to the sustainability of local news provision; notes that a study by Press Gazette shows that over 300 local newspaper titles have closed over the past decade, with other titles reducing the frequency of publication; further notes that thousands of editorial roles have been lost, together with widespread reduction to the staffing levels associated with front­line reporters based in the community, picture desk editors and photographers; regrets the impact of moving the production of local news out of localities they serve which effects the quality of news coverage; and supports the National Union of Journalists’ Local News Matters campaign, which urges Government devolved bodies and local authorities, to take active steps to support sustainable investment in professional local and regional news provision online, in newspapers and on radio and television.

This motion has been signed by a total of 34 MPs.

Helen Goodman23/03/2017Bishop AucklandLabourProposed
Peter Bottomley23/03/2017Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Liz Saville Roberts23/03/2017Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSeconded
Caroline Lucas23/03/2017Brighton, PavilionGreenSeconded
Clive Lewis23/03/2017Norwich SouthLabourSeconded
Rachael Maskell23/03/2017York CentralLabour/Co-operativeSeconded
Jo Stevens23/03/2017Cardiff CentralLabourSigned
Paul Flynn23/03/2017Newport WestLabourSigned
Corri Wilson23/03/2017Ayr, Carrick and CumnockScottish National PartySigned
John Nicolson23/03/2017East DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Stewart McDonald24/03/2017Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss24/03/2017Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Sarah Olney27/03/2017Richmond ParkLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Durkan27/03/2017FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Jim Cunningham27/03/2017Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Ruth Smeeth27/03/2017Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Natalie McGarry27/03/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Kelvin Hopkins27/03/2017Luton NorthLabourSigned
Wes Streeting27/03/2017Ilford NorthLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell28/03/2017Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
John Cryer28/03/2017Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie28/03/2017South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Ian Mearns28/03/2017GatesheadLabourSigned
Jonathan Edwards28/03/2017Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Alan Meale28/03/2017MansfieldLabourSigned
Jim Shannon28/03/2017StrangfordDUPSigned
Stephen Kinnock28/03/2017AberavonLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell29/03/2017Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Steve Rotheram29/03/2017Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Lady Hermon29/03/2017North DownIndependentSigned
Chris Stephens29/03/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Stephen McCabe18/04/2017Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Catherine McKinnell18/04/2017Newcastle upon Tyne NorthLabourSigned
Louise Ellman20/04/2017Liverpool, RiversideLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.