Parliament Website

Polar Ocean Challenge

EDM number 445 in 2016-17, proposed by James Gray on 13/09/2016.
Categorised under the topics of Climate change and Shipping.

That this House congratulates the great British explorer David Hempleman-Adams and his team on-board the 42 foot aluminium hulled yacht, Northabout, for successfully transiting the North East Passage and the North West Passage, thereby circumnavigating the North Pole in a single Arctic summer on 12 September 2016; notes that this is a feat never before achieved by a British boat and so is a singular record in the annals of Great British exploring; while rejoicing in that accomplishment, nevertheless expresses concern that this is clear evidence of the speed at which the Arctic sea-ice is retreating; and calls on the Government to renew its efforts to combat climate change.

This motion has been signed by a total of 38 MPs.

James Gray13/09/2016North WiltshireConservativeProposed
David Warburton13/09/2016Somerton and FromeConservativeSeconded
Gavin Robinson13/09/2016Belfast EastDUPSeconded
Roger Godsiff13/09/2016Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSeconded
Martyn Day13/09/2016Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
Nicholas Dakin13/09/2016ScunthorpeLabourSeconded
John Mann13/09/2016BassetlawLabourSigned
Caroline Spelman13/09/2016MeridenConservativeSigned
Julian Lewis13/09/2016New Forest EastConservativeSigned
Douglas Chapman13/09/2016Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Lady Hermon14/09/2016North DownIndependentSigned
Alasdair McDonnell14/09/2016Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Chris Stephens14/09/2016Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
David Amess14/09/2016Southend WestConservativeSigned
Tom Elliott14/09/2016Fermanagh and South TyroneUUPSigned
Danny Kinahan14/09/2016South AntrimUUPSigned
Bob Blackman14/09/2016Harrow EastConservativeSigned
Alan Meale14/09/2016MansfieldLabourSigned
Jim Shannon14/09/2016StrangfordDUPSigned
Alex Salmond15/09/2016Signed
Margaret Ferrier15/09/2016Rutherglen and Hamilton WestScottish National PartySigned
Marion Fellows15/09/2016Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Newlands15/09/2016Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Liz Saville Roberts10/10/2016Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Peter Bottomley10/10/2016Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Hannah Bardell10/10/2016LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Owen Thompson10/10/2016MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry10/10/2016Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil10/10/2016Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Tasmina Sheikh10/10/2016Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Angela Crawley11/10/2016Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned
David Simpson11/10/2016Upper BannDUPSigned
Corri Wilson12/10/2016Ayr, Carrick and CumnockScottish National PartySigned
Jim Cunningham12/10/2016Coventry SouthLabourSigned
John Nicolson24/10/2016East DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
David Crausby25/10/2016Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Andrew Rosindell25/10/2016RomfordConservativeSigned
Sarah Olney19/04/2017Richmond ParkLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.