Parliament Website

Death Of Political Prisoners In Iran In 1988

EDM number 448 in 2016-17, proposed by David Amess on 13/09/2016.
Categorised under the topics of Death, International politics and government, Iran and Prisons.

That this House notes that the audio file of Ayatollah Montrazeri, former heir to Khomeini, in 1988, reveals new evidence about the massacre of more than 30,000 political prisoners in Iran's prisons in the summer of 1988 including women and children and all political prisoners who supported the opposition movement of the People's Mujahedin of Iran (PMOI); understands that the massacre was carried out following a fatwa by the Supreme Leader Khomeini, who ordered all political prisoners loyal of the PMOI to be immediately executed; is concerned by Montazeri's comments that this was the biggest crime that has occurred in the Islamic Republic and that the world will not forgive us for this crime; agrees that the impunity of the authorities of the Iranian regime in the past three decades is the main cause for continuation of these crimes in Iran; endorses the survivors' account that those in charge of the massacre go unpunished and are currently appointed in high positions of the lranian government including Mostafa Pourmohammadi, Minister of Justice, and Hossein Ali Nayeri, Head of Administrative Court for the Judges; urges the Government to recognise and condemn this brutal massacre as a crime again humanity and ask the UN Human Rights Commissioner, Human Rights Council, the General Assembly and the Security Council to order an investigation and bring the perpetrators to justice.

This motion has been signed by a total of 80 MPs.

David Amess13/09/2016Southend WestConservativeProposed
Jim Shannon14/09/2016StrangfordDUPSeconded
Jim Dowd14/09/2016Lewisham West and PengeLabourSeconded
Bob Blackman14/09/2016Harrow EastConservativeSeconded
Alan Meale14/09/2016MansfieldLabourSeconded
Gavin Robinson14/09/2016Belfast EastDUPSeconded
Alasdair McDonnell14/09/2016Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Mark Durkan15/09/2016FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Mary Glindon15/09/2016North TynesideLabourSigned
Jim Fitzpatrick15/09/2016Poplar and LimehouseLabourSigned
Mark Williams15/09/2016CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Ian Paisley Jnr15/09/2016North AntrimDUPSigned
Sammy Wilson15/09/2016East AntrimDUPSigned
Ian Mearns15/09/2016GatesheadLabourSigned
Martin Vickers15/09/2016CleethorpesConservativeSigned
Virendra Sharma15/09/2016Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Tom Brake10/10/2016Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Liz Saville Roberts10/10/2016Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Rosie Cooper10/10/2016West LancashireLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins10/10/2016Luton NorthLabourSigned
Natalie McGarry10/10/2016Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Vernon Coaker11/10/2016GedlingLabourSigned
Siobhain McDonagh11/10/2016Mitcham and MordenLabourSigned
Kevin Barron11/10/2016Rother ValleyLabourSigned
Louise Ellman11/10/2016Liverpool, RiversideLabourSigned
Stephen McCabe11/10/2016Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Wayne David11/10/2016CaerphillyLabourSigned
David Hanson11/10/2016DelynLabourSigned
Jack Dromey11/10/2016Birmingham, ErdingtonLabourSigned
Wes Streeting11/10/2016Ilford NorthLabourSigned
Kate Hoey11/10/2016VauxhallLabourSigned
Mark Tami11/10/2016Alyn and DeesideLabourSigned
Ruth Smeeth11/10/2016Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Marie Rimmer11/10/2016St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Stephen Kinnock11/10/2016AberavonLabourSigned
Helen Goodman11/10/2016Bishop AucklandLabourSigned
Steve Rotheram11/10/2016Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Keith Vaz11/10/2016Leicester EastLabourSigned
Nicholas Dakin11/10/2016ScunthorpeLabourSigned
John Pugh11/10/2016SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Alistair Carmichael11/10/2016Orkney and ShetlandLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Campbell11/10/2016TynemouthLabourSigned
John Cryer11/10/2016Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Neil Carmichael11/10/2016StroudConservativeSigned
Dominic Grieve11/10/2016BeaconsfieldConservativeSigned
Neil Parish11/10/2016Tiverton and HonitonConservativeSigned
Andrew Rosindell11/10/2016RomfordConservativeSigned
Andrew Bridgen11/10/2016North West LeicestershireConservativeSigned
Dominic Raab11/10/2016Esher and WaltonConservativeSigned
Danny Kinahan11/10/2016South AntrimUUPSigned
Bob Neill11/10/2016Bromley and ChislehurstConservativeSigned
John Howell11/10/2016HenleyConservativeSigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson11/10/2016Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
Anne-Marie Trevelyan11/10/2016Berwick-upon-TweedConservativeSigned
Craig Tracey11/10/2016North WarwickshireConservativeSigned
Frank Field11/10/2016BirkenheadLabourSigned
Jess Phillips11/10/2016Birmingham, YardleyLabourSigned
Henry Bellingham11/10/2016North West NorfolkConservativeSigned
Joan Ryan11/10/2016Signed
Dennis Skinner11/10/2016BolsoverLabourSigned
Desmond Swayne11/10/2016New Forest WestConservativeSigned
Lady Hermon12/10/2016North DownIndependentSigned
Jim Cunningham12/10/2016Coventry SouthLabourSigned
David Crausby25/10/2016Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Anne McLaughlin02/11/2016Glasgow North EastScottish National PartySigned
John McNally02/11/2016FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Paul Monaghan02/11/2016Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Cowan02/11/2016InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Callum McCaig02/11/2016Aberdeen SouthScottish National PartySigned
Stuart McDonald02/11/2016Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned
Richard Arkless02/11/2016Dumfries and GallowayScottish National PartySigned
Corri Wilson02/11/2016Ayr, Carrick and CumnockScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown02/11/2016Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens02/11/2016Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Owen Thompson02/11/2016MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Roger Mullin02/11/2016Kirkcaldy and CowdenbeathScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law02/11/2016Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Philippa Whitford02/11/2016Central AyrshireScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry02/11/2016Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Hilary Benn16/11/2016Leeds CentralLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.