Parliament Website

Freedom Of The Media In Turkey

EDM number 474 in 2016-17, proposed by Mark Durkan on 15/09/2016.
Categorised under the topics of Human rights, Media and Middle East.

That this House is gravely concerned over reports of increasingly repressive treatment of journalists working for newspapers, websites and broadcasters in Turkey; notes that a recently published decree ordered the closure of 131 media organisations, including three news agencies, 16 television channels, 23 radio stations, 45 daily newspapers, 15 magazines and 29 publishing houses; further notes that, under the country's state of emergency, the authorities can hold suspects in detention without charge for 30 days, with journalists frequently detained without arrest warrants; and calls on the Government and the Council of Europe's Platform for the Protection of Journalists to raise these violations of press freedoms with the Turkish authorities.

This motion has been signed by a total of 33 MPs.

Caroline Lucas05/01/2016Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Mark Durkan15/09/2016FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartyProposed
Liz Saville Roberts15/09/2016Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSeconded
Chris Stephens15/09/2016Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySeconded
Tom Brake15/09/2016Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSeconded
John Nicolson15/09/2016East DunbartonshireScottish National PartySeconded
Helen Goodman15/09/2016Bishop AucklandLabourSeconded
Jim Shannon10/10/2016StrangfordDUPSigned
Peter Bottomley10/10/2016Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Kelvin Hopkins10/10/2016Luton NorthLabourSigned
Michael Weir10/10/2016AngusScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day10/10/2016Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Stewart McDonald10/10/2016Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Natalie McGarry10/10/2016Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Jonathan Edwards11/10/2016Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Martin Docherty11/10/2016West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Jim Cunningham12/10/2016Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Lady Hermon12/10/2016North DownIndependentSigned
Carol Monaghan12/10/2016Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Owen Thompson12/10/2016MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins13/10/2016North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Mary Glindon13/10/2016North TynesideLabourSigned
Alan Brown21/10/2016Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Alex Salmond21/10/2016Signed
Chris Law21/10/2016Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil21/10/2016Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Newlands21/10/2016Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry24/10/2016Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
David Crausby25/10/2016Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Joanna Cherry25/10/2016Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell27/10/2016LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Peter Grant01/11/2016GlenrothesScottish National PartySigned
Alasdair McDonnell16/11/2016Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.