Parliament Website

Routine Preventative Use Of Antibiotics In Supermarket Supply Chains

EDM number 488 in 2016-17, proposed by Zac Goldsmith on 10/10/2016.
Categorised under the topics of Animal welfare and Food.

That this House expresses concern about recent findings of high levels of antibiotic-resistant e.coli and MRSA on British supermarket meat, of UK origin; welcomes the commitment of the Foods Standards Agency to work with UK food retailers to reduce farm antibiotic use and Waitrose's recently updated policy, which prohibits antibiotic prophylaxis, routine preventative use; notes that the systematic overuse of antibiotics in farm animals is contributing to the emergence of antibiotic resistance in human bacterial infections; considers the routine preventative mass-medication of animals to be unacceptable practice; believes that the adoption of higher welfare farming practices must be central to any successful strategy to reduce farm antibiotic use; and calls on all UK supermarkets to adopt a publicly available policy on antibiotic use within their supply chains, prohibiting routine mass-medication of livestock and committing to drastic reductions in farm use of the critically important antibiotics.

This motion has been signed by a total of 61 MPs.

Rosie Cooper01/01/2016West LancashireLabourSigned
Jim Dowd05/01/2016Lewisham West and PengeLabourSigned
Corri Wilson05/01/2016Ayr, Carrick and CumnockScottish National PartySigned
Owen Thompson05/01/2016MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Zac Goldsmith10/10/2016Richmond ParkConservativeProposed
Caroline Lucas10/10/2016Brighton, PavilionGreenSeconded
Kerry McCarthy10/10/2016Bristol EastLabourSeconded
David Warburton10/10/2016Somerton and FromeConservativeSeconded
Caroline Spelman10/10/2016MeridenConservativeSeconded
Margaret Ritchie10/10/2016South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Mark Durkan10/10/2016FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Michael Weir10/10/2016AngusScottish National PartySigned
Andrea Jenkyns10/10/2016Morley and OutwoodConservativeSigned
Peter Bottomley10/10/2016Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Bob Blackman10/10/2016Harrow EastConservativeSigned
Robert Flello11/10/2016Stoke-on-Trent SouthLabourSigned
David Simpson11/10/2016Upper BannDUPSigned
Gavin Robinson11/10/2016Belfast EastDUPSigned
John Cryer11/10/2016Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Martyn Day11/10/2016Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Liz Saville Roberts11/10/2016Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Graham Allen11/10/2016Nottingham NorthLabourSigned
Jim Shannon11/10/2016StrangfordDUPSigned
John McNally11/10/2016FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Natalie McGarry11/10/2016Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Kelvin Hopkins12/10/2016Luton NorthLabourSigned
Tania Mathias12/10/2016TwickenhamConservativeSigned
Albert Owen12/10/2016Ynys MLabourSigned
Lady Hermon12/10/2016North DownIndependentSigned
Carol Monaghan12/10/2016Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Brendan O'Hara12/10/2016Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Callum McCaig13/10/2016Aberdeen SouthScottish National PartySigned
Dennis Skinner13/10/2016BolsoverLabourSigned
Anne Main13/10/2016St AlbansConservativeSigned
Richard Arkless17/10/2016Dumfries and GallowayScottish National PartySigned
Alan Meale17/10/2016MansfieldLabourSigned
Paul Flynn17/10/2016Newport WestLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham18/10/2016Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Chris Law18/10/2016Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Kirsten Oswald20/10/2016East RenfrewshireScottish National PartySigned
Steven Paterson20/10/2016StirlingScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil21/10/2016Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown21/10/2016Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Alex Salmond21/10/2016Signed
John Nicolson24/10/2016East DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry24/10/2016Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Eilidh Whiteford24/10/2016Banff and BuchanScottish National PartySigned
Martin Docherty24/10/2016West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
David Crausby25/10/2016Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff27/10/2016Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Norman Lamb27/10/2016North NorfolkLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen Gethins27/10/2016North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell27/10/2016LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Alistair Carmichael27/10/2016Orkney and ShetlandLiberal DemocratSigned
Peter Grant01/11/2016GlenrothesScottish National PartySigned
Tommy Sheppard03/11/2016Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
Kate Green03/11/2016Stretford and UrmstonLabourSigned
Sammy Wilson08/11/2016East AntrimDUPSigned
Alasdair McDonnell16/11/2016Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Angus Robertson12/01/2017MorayScottish National PartySigned
Mhairi Black31/01/2017Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.