Parliament Website

Syrian Passports

EDM number 562 in 2016-17, proposed by Alistair Carmichael on 18/10/2016.
Categorised under the topics of International politics and government, Middle East and Nationality.

That this House notes with grave concern reports that Syrian citizens and critics of the Syrian government have had their passports declared stolen by their government; further notes reports that as a consequence of this, UK authorities have confiscated passports based on such reports from the Syrian government, while at the same time accusing that same Syrian government of war crimes; notes that on 22 September 2016 award-winning journalist, Zaina Erhaim, had her passport confiscated for this reason even though her identity was not contested and she was allowed entry into the UK on an older passport; notes that this has had a huge impact on her and her family; believes that such actions risk making the UK appear to be complicit in assisting the Syrian government in its repression of its own citizens; and urges the Home Secretary to assist Ms Erhaim and others unfairly treated to acquire proper identity documentation, and to review the procedures so that no foreign governments can abuse the passport system to silence their critics or journalists upholding the right to freedom of expression.

This motion has been signed by a total of 36 MPs.

Margaret Ritchie05/01/2016South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Jim Shannon05/01/2016StrangfordDUPSigned
Alistair Carmichael18/10/2016Orkney and ShetlandLiberal DemocratProposed
Mark Durkan18/10/2016FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Peter Bottomley18/10/2016Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Helen Goodman18/10/2016Bishop AucklandLabourSeconded
Stephen Gethins18/10/2016North East FifeScottish National PartySeconded
Chris Law18/10/2016Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens19/10/2016Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Wes Streeting20/10/2016Ilford NorthLabourSigned
Martyn Day20/10/2016Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Alan Meale20/10/2016MansfieldLabourSigned
Angus MacNeil21/10/2016Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan21/10/2016Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown21/10/2016Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Alex Salmond21/10/2016Signed
Lady Hermon24/10/2016North DownIndependentSigned
Ian Blackford24/10/2016Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Patrick Grady24/10/2016Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Liz Saville Roberts24/10/2016Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Drew Hendry24/10/2016Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Jim Cunningham24/10/2016Coventry SouthLabourSigned
John Nicolson24/10/2016East DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Natalie McGarry25/10/2016Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Paul Flynn25/10/2016Newport WestLabourSigned
Hywel Williams25/10/2016ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Deidre Brock26/10/2016Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySigned
Roger Godsiff26/10/2016Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Stephen Doughty26/10/2016Cardiff South and PenarthLabourSigned
Owen Thompson26/10/2016MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Brendan O'Hara26/10/2016Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell27/10/2016LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Mark Williams27/10/2016CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Ann Clwyd01/11/2016Cynon ValleyLabourSigned
Peter Grant01/11/2016GlenrothesScottish National PartySigned
Alasdair McDonnell16/11/2016Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.