Parliament Website

Independent Advocates For Trafficked Children

EDM number 66 in 2016-17, proposed by Fiona Mactaggart on 23/05/2016.
Categorised under the topics of Children and families, Immigration and Legal profession.

That this House notes the independent evaluation of the Child Trafficking Advocates pilot project, provided by Barnados and funded by the Home Office, which concluded that advocates assisted in keeping trafficked children safely visible once they started working with them, made relationships of trust and credibility with the children and other stakeholders, shared developing expertise in trafficking and case-specific information in purposeful ways, helped the children to orientate and navigate their ways through complex circumstances, spoke up for the children when necessary, maintained a momentum in a case that was suitable to the child's needs, including planning for a sustainable future and improved the quality of decision making; and urges the Home Office to act swiftly to build on these foundations, making sure that all trafficked children have access to the support of an independent advocate, recognising that if the scheme needs to be developed further then this should be done in the context of implementing the provision in Clause 48 of the Modern Slavery Act to provide an independent advocate to every trafficked child and the quality of the service should be improved while it is being rolled out.

This motion has been signed by a total of 67 MPs.

Fiona Mactaggart23/05/2016SloughLabourProposed
Tim Loughton23/05/2016East Worthing and ShorehamConservativeSeconded
Mark Durkan23/05/2016FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Fiona Bruce23/05/2016CongletonConservativeSeconded
Jess Phillips23/05/2016Birmingham, YardleyLabourSeconded
Martyn Day23/05/2016Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
Jim Cunningham23/05/2016Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Stephen Doughty23/05/2016Cardiff South and PenarthLabourSigned
Gill Furniss23/05/2016Sheffield, Brightside and HillsboroughLabourSigned
Tom Blenkinsop23/05/2016Middlesbrough South and East ClevelandLabourSigned
Albert Owen23/05/2016Ynys MLabourSigned
Patricia Gibson23/05/2016North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law23/05/2016Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Margaret Ritchie23/05/2016South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Alistair Carmichael23/05/2016Orkney and ShetlandLiberal DemocratSigned
Margaret Ferrier23/05/2016Rutherglen and Hamilton WestScottish National PartySigned
Paula Sherriff23/05/2016DewsburyLabourSigned
Marie Rimmer23/05/2016St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Jenny Chapman23/05/2016DarlingtonLabourSigned
Jim Shannon24/05/2016StrangfordDUPSigned
Angus MacNeil24/05/2016Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Robinson24/05/2016Belfast EastDUPSigned
George Howarth24/05/2016KnowsleyLabourSigned
Phil Boswell24/05/2016Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillScottish National PartySigned
Ian Blackford24/05/2016Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Liz Saville Roberts24/05/2016Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Paul Monaghan24/05/2016Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySigned
Natalie McGarry24/05/2016Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Kinnock25/05/2016AberavonLabourSigned
Hywel Williams25/05/2016ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Chris Stephens25/05/2016Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Peter Bottomley25/05/2016Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Michelle Thomson25/05/2016Edinburgh WestScottish National PartySigned
Alan Meale25/05/2016MansfieldLabourSigned
Marion Fellows25/05/2016Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
David Simpson25/05/2016Upper BannDUPSigned
Ann Clwyd25/05/2016Cynon ValleyLabourSigned
Carolyn Harris25/05/2016Swansea EastLabourSigned
Alan Brown25/05/2016Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Mary Glindon25/05/2016North TynesideLabourSigned
John McNally25/05/2016FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Neil Gray25/05/2016Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Mike Gapes25/05/2016Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Kate Hollern25/05/2016BlackburnLabourSigned
Helen Goodman25/05/2016Bishop AucklandLabourSigned
Joanna Cherry25/05/2016Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Mark Williams25/05/2016CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Carol Monaghan25/05/2016Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Douglas Chapman26/05/2016Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Michael Weir26/05/2016AngusScottish National PartySigned
Kelvin Hopkins26/05/2016Luton NorthLabourSigned
Owen Thompson06/06/2016MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Caroline Lucas06/06/2016Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Hannah Bardell06/06/2016LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Tasmina Sheikh06/06/2016Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Nigel Dodds07/06/2016Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Lady Hermon08/06/2016North DownIndependentSigned
Kirsten Oswald08/06/2016East RenfrewshireScottish National PartySigned
Roger Godsiff08/06/2016Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Angela Crawley08/06/2016Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned
Paul Flynn09/06/2016Newport WestLabourSigned
Corri Wilson09/06/2016Ayr, Carrick and CumnockScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins09/06/2016North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Stuart Donaldson13/06/2016West Aberdeenshire and KincardineScottish National PartySigned
Mhairi Black04/07/2016Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Anne McLaughlin14/07/2016Glasgow North EastScottish National PartySigned
David Crausby13/10/2016Bolton North EastLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.