Parliament Website

Press Freedom In Turkey

EDM number 907 in 2016-17, proposed by Stewart McDonald on 01/02/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Middle East and Press.

That this House is concerned at reports of state censorship, in particular the firing, detention and wiretapping of journalists working for newspapers, websites and broadcasters in Turkey; notes that under the state of emergency and in the run-up to the April constitutional referendum in Turkey, the authorities have been carrying out an unprecedented crackdown on freedom of expression and human rights more broadly; expresses further concern that since the state of emergency was proclaimed, over 100 journalists have been detained without trial, making Turkey the world's biggest jailer of journalists, while 149 media outlets have also been closed; further notes that Turkey is ranked 151st out of 180 countries in the Reporters Without Borders World Press Freedom Index 2016; and urges the Government to raise those issues at the highest possible level with the Turkish authorities and calls for the immediate and unconditional release of jailed journalists.

This motion has been signed by a total of 51 MPs.

Stewart McDonald01/02/2017Glasgow SouthScottish National PartyProposed
Calum Kerr01/02/2017Berwickshire, Roxburgh and SelkirkScottish National PartySeconded
Deidre Brock01/02/2017Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySeconded
Chris Law01/02/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySeconded
George Kerevan01/02/2017East LothianScottish National PartySeconded
Patricia Gibson01/02/2017North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartySeconded
Roger Mullin01/02/2017Kirkcaldy and CowdenbeathScottish National PartySigned
Mark Durkan01/02/2017FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Neil Gray01/02/2017Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Stuart Donaldson01/02/2017West Aberdeenshire and KincardineScottish National PartySigned
Joanna Cherry01/02/2017Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Tasmina Sheikh01/02/2017Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil01/02/2017Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Tommy Sheppard01/02/2017Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
Michelle Thomson01/02/2017Edinburgh WestScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell01/02/2017LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan01/02/2017Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Newlands01/02/2017Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Cowan01/02/2017InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry01/02/2017Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown01/02/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Margaret Ferrier02/02/2017Rutherglen and Hamilton WestScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens02/02/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Jim Cunningham02/02/2017Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Jim Shannon02/02/2017StrangfordDUPSigned
Kelvin Hopkins02/02/2017Luton NorthLabourSigned
John Nicolson03/02/2017East DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Alex Salmond03/02/2017Signed
Jonathan Edwards06/02/2017Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Ian Blackford06/02/2017Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Liz Saville Roberts06/02/2017Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Peter Bottomley06/02/2017Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Lady Hermon07/02/2017North DownIndependentSigned
Paul Monaghan07/02/2017Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySigned
Alasdair McDonnell07/02/2017Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Owen Thompson07/02/2017MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Alan Meale07/02/2017MansfieldLabourSigned
Alison Thewliss07/02/2017Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Margaret Ritchie08/02/2017South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Mark Williams08/02/2017CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Harriet Harman08/02/2017Camberwell and PeckhamLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell08/02/2017Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
John McNally08/02/2017FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Kirsten Oswald08/02/2017East RenfrewshireScottish National PartySigned
Natalie McGarry08/02/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins20/02/2017North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Patrick Grady02/03/2017Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Tom Brake08/03/2017Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
David Lammy08/03/2017TottenhamLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas13/03/2017Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Alistair Carmichael24/03/2017Orkney and ShetlandLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.