Parliament Website

Ovarian Cancer Awareness Month

EDM number 995 in 2016-17, proposed by Mark Durkan on 01/03/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Charities, Diseases and Health education and preventive medicine.

That this House supports Ovarian Cancer Awareness Month which takes place in March 2017; notes that over 7,000 women are diagnosed with ovarian cancer across the UK each year; is concerned that just one in five women are able to name the lead symptom of bloating; recognises that early diagnosis saves lives and that awareness of the symptoms of ovarian cancer is key if more women are to be diagnosed sooner; further recognises that the four key symptoms of ovarian cancer are persistent bloating, pelvic or abdominal pain, feeling full and a loss of appetite and increased urinary urgency or frequency; further supports the work of charities Target Ovarian Cancer, Ovarian Cancer Action, Ovacome, The Eve Appeal and others to raise awareness of the symptoms of this deadly disease; welcomes the Be Clear on Cancer pilot currently running in the East and West Midlands which aims to raise awareness of all abdominal symptoms that could be cancer; and calls on the Government and devolved administrations to act to ensure that all women know the symptoms of ovarian cancer and that more women are diagnosed early.

This motion has been signed by a total of 53 MPs.

Mark Durkan01/03/2017FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartyProposed
Fiona Mactaggart01/03/2017SloughLabourSeconded
Jim Shannon01/03/2017StrangfordDUPSeconded
Tom Brake01/03/2017Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSeconded
Paul Monaghan02/03/2017Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySeconded
Natalie McGarry02/03/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySeconded
Jim Cunningham02/03/2017Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Julian Lewis02/03/2017New Forest EastConservativeSigned
Chris Stephens02/03/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry06/03/2017Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Margaret Ritchie06/03/2017South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Carol Monaghan06/03/2017Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Robinson06/03/2017Belfast EastDUPSigned
John Nicolson06/03/2017East DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Kelvin Hopkins06/03/2017Luton NorthLabourSigned
Alan Meale06/03/2017MansfieldLabourSigned
Hannah Bardell06/03/2017LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Corri Wilson06/03/2017Ayr, Carrick and CumnockScottish National PartySigned
Anne McLaughlin06/03/2017Glasgow North EastScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown06/03/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Alex Salmond06/03/2017Signed
Angus MacNeil06/03/2017Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law06/03/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
David Simpson07/03/2017Upper BannDUPSigned
Stephen Gethins07/03/2017North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss08/03/2017Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Liz Saville Roberts08/03/2017Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Mary Glindon08/03/2017North TynesideLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell08/03/2017Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Douglas Chapman09/03/2017Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Rosie Cooper13/03/2017West LancashireLabourSigned
Nigel Evans13/03/2017Ribble ValleyConservativeSigned
Owen Thompson13/03/2017MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
George Kerevan13/03/2017East LothianScottish National PartySigned
Stuart Donaldson13/03/2017West Aberdeenshire and KincardineScottish National PartySigned
David Crausby13/03/2017Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Lady Hermon13/03/2017North DownIndependentSigned
Tom Blenkinsop13/03/2017Middlesbrough South and East ClevelandLabourSigned
Ivan Lewis13/03/2017Bury SouthLabourSigned
Danny Kinahan15/03/2017South AntrimUUPSigned
Yvonne Fovargue16/03/2017MakerfieldLabourSigned
Bill Esterson16/03/2017Sefton CentralLabourSigned
Helen Hayes20/03/2017Dulwich and West NorwoodLabourSigned
Jeremy Lefroy21/03/2017StaffordConservativeSigned
Anne Main21/03/2017St AlbansConservativeSigned
Jim Dowd21/03/2017Lewisham West and PengeLabourSigned
Angela Eagle22/03/2017WallaseyLabourSigned
Sammy Wilson23/03/2017East AntrimDUPSigned
Gavin Newlands29/03/2017Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
John Pugh30/03/2017SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Rachael Maskell30/03/2017York CentralLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson18/04/2017Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
Robert Flello25/04/2017Stoke-on-Trent SouthLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.