Parliament Website

Childhood Tooth Decay

EDM number 100 in 2017-19, proposed by Steve McCabe on 29/06/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Children and families, Health education and preventive medicine and Health services.

That this House notes with concern that a quarter of five-year olds in England have tooth decay; further notes that tooth decay is the leading cause of hospital admissions for five to nine-year olds, despite being largely preventable, with tens of thousands of children undergoing general anaesthesia for tooth extractions every year; recognises that providing oral health education, improving access to dental services and reducing levels of sugar consumption are important steps in tackling childhood tooth decay across the UK; is encouraged by the success of oral health improvement programmes, such as Childsmile in Scotland and Designed to Smile in Wales; and calls on the Government to take concerted action to address the epidemic of childhood tooth decay.

This motion has been signed by a total of 34 MPs.

Stephen McCabe29/06/2017Birmingham, Selly OakLabourProposed
Tom Brake29/06/2017Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSeconded
Mike Gapes29/06/2017Ilford SouthLabourSeconded
Stephen Timms29/06/2017East HamLabourSeconded
Jim Shannon29/06/2017StrangfordDUPSeconded
Adrian Bailey29/06/2017West Bromwich WestLabourSeconded
Ronnie Campbell29/06/2017Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Jim Fitzpatrick29/06/2017Poplar and LimehouseLabourSigned
George Howarth29/06/2017KnowsleyLabourSigned
Colleen Fletcher29/06/2017Coventry North EastLabourSigned
John Mann29/06/2017BassetlawLabourSigned
Rachael Maskell29/06/2017York CentralLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Grahame Morris29/06/2017EasingtonLabourSigned
Wes Streeting29/06/2017Ilford NorthLabourSigned
Graham Stringer29/06/2017Blackley and BroughtonLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins03/07/2017Luton NorthLabourSigned
Martyn Day03/07/2017Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Jim Cunningham03/07/2017Coventry SouthLabourSigned
David Drew04/07/2017Signed
Mike Hill04/07/2017HartlepoolLabourSigned
Matt Western04/07/2017Warwick and LeamingtonLabourSigned
Laura Smith04/07/2017Crewe and NantwichLabourSigned
Lady Hermon04/07/2017North DownIndependentSigned
Roger Godsiff05/07/2017Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Ruth George05/07/2017High PeakLabourSigned
Kevin Barron06/07/2017Rother ValleyLabourSigned
Sammy Wilson10/07/2017East AntrimDUPSigned
Rosie Cooper10/07/2017West LancashireLabourSigned
Laura Pidcock12/07/2017North West DurhamLabourSigned
Paul Farrelly12/07/2017Newcastle-under-LymeLabourSigned
Clive Betts05/09/2017Sheffield South EastLabourSigned
Wera Hobhouse09/10/2017BathLiberal DemocratSigned
Layla Moran06/11/2017Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned
Tim Farron26/06/2018Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.