Parliament Website

Non-Proliferation Treaty Review Conference

EDM number 1122 in 2017-19, proposed by Caroline Lucas on 26/03/2018.
Categorised under the topic of Arms control.

That this House notes that the 2018 Preparatory Committee for the 2020 Non-Proliferation Treaty (NPT) Review Conference takes place between 23 April and 4 May; commemorates 2018 as the 50th anniversary of the NPT opening for signature; recognises the opportunity that this anniversary offers the Government to engage with global nuclear disarmament initiatives, both within the NPT Preparatory Committee and the UN High­-Level Conference on Nuclear Disarmament; expresses disappointment that despite 50 years since the signing of the NPT, nuclear proliferation remains a major global security risk and attempts at nuclear disarmament have fallen short of the progress as envisaged by the NPT; calls on the Government to inject new life into the NPT following the failure of the 2015 Review Conference to agree a Final Document, and to use the Preparatory Committee to prepare for progress on global nuclear stockpile reduction, the development of nuclear-weapons-free zones, the entry into force of the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty, and the negotiation of a fissile material cut-off treaty; commends the 57 countries who have signed, and six countries who have ratified the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons; and calls on the Government to restate its position that the NPT is the essential foundation for the pursuit of nuclear disarmament and ensure that that foundation is strengthened at the NPT Preparatory Committee.

This motion has been signed by a total of 64 MPs.

Caroline Lucas26/03/2018Brighton, PavilionGreenProposed
Ronnie Cowan26/03/2018InverclydeScottish National PartySeconded
Chris Stephens26/03/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySeconded
Lloyd Russell-Moyle26/03/2018Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSeconded
Hywel Williams26/03/2018ArfonPlaid CymruSeconded
Tommy Sheppard26/03/2018Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySeconded
Stewart McDonald27/03/2018Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Kelvin Hopkins27/03/2018Luton NorthLabourSigned
Jonathan Edwards27/03/2018Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Patrick Grady28/03/2018Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
David Linden28/03/2018Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss28/03/2018Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Liz Saville Roberts29/03/2018Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Ben Lake29/03/2018CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Daniel Zeichner16/04/2018CambridgeLabourSigned
Martin Docherty16/04/2018West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Gordon Henderson16/04/2018Sittingbourne and SheppeyConservativeSigned
Margaret Greenwood16/04/2018Wirral WestLabourSigned
Paul Girvan16/04/2018South AntrimDUPSigned
Ruth Cadbury16/04/2018Brentford and IsleworthLabourSigned
Catherine West16/04/2018Hornsey and Wood GreenLabourSigned
Alan Brown16/04/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Alex Sobel16/04/2018Leeds North WestLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Kate Green16/04/2018Stretford and UrmstonLabourSigned
Kirsty Blackman16/04/2018Aberdeen NorthScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil16/04/2018Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law16/04/2018Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Patricia Gibson16/04/2018North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell16/04/2018LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Deidre Brock16/04/2018Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySigned
Tim Farron17/04/2018Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Jared O'Mara17/04/2018Sheffield, HallamIndependentSigned
Kate Hoey17/04/2018VauxhallLabourSigned
Mhairi Black17/04/2018Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Matt Western18/04/2018Warwick and LeamingtonLabourSigned
Sandy Martin18/04/2018IpswichLabourSigned
Carol Monaghan18/04/2018Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Roger Godsiff18/04/2018Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Philippa Whitford19/04/2018Central AyrshireScottish National PartySigned
Thelma Walker19/04/2018Colne ValleyLabourSigned
John Grogan23/04/2018Signed
Drew Hendry23/04/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Douglas Chapman23/04/2018Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Ruth George23/04/2018High PeakLabourSigned
Pete Wishart23/04/2018Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Jim Cunningham23/04/2018Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Brendan O'Hara24/04/2018Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Andy Slaughter24/04/2018HammersmithLabourSigned
Stephen Lloyd25/04/2018EastbourneLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen Kinnock26/04/2018AberavonLabourSigned
Graham Stringer26/04/2018Blackley and BroughtonLabourSigned
Alistair Carmichael30/04/2018Orkney and ShetlandLiberal DemocratSigned
Jeremy Lefroy30/04/2018StaffordConservativeSigned
Wera Hobhouse01/05/2018BathLiberal DemocratSigned
Stuart McDonald08/05/2018Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned
Chris Williamson08/05/2018Derby NorthLabourSigned
Norman Lamb09/05/2018North NorfolkLiberal DemocratSigned
James Frith14/05/2018Bury NorthLabourSigned
Helen Hayes22/05/2018Dulwich and West NorwoodLabourSigned
Stephen Twigg23/05/2018Liverpool, West DerbyLabourSigned
Jo Swinson23/05/2018East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Anna McMorrin11/06/2018Cardiff NorthLabourSigned
Stephen McCabe14/06/2018Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Joanna Cherry12/07/2018Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.