Parliament Website

Warsaw Ghetto Uprising - 75th Anniversary

EDM number 1155 in 2017-19, proposed by Patricia Gibson on 16/04/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Eastern Europe, Human rights, Military operations, Racial discrimination, Religion and faith communities and Religious discrimination.

That this House commemorates the 75th anniversary of the Warsaw Ghetto uprising, from 19 April to 16 May 1943; notes that after Germany invaded Poland in September 1939, more than 440,000 Jews were confined to just 1.3 square miles of Warsaw, sealed in by a wall patrolled by armed guards; understands Ghetto residents were forced to live in appallingly squalid conditions, with an average of 7.2 people per room, with food rations deliberately insufficient to sustain life; realises many thousands of Ghetto inhabitants died of starvation and disease, while in July 1942, the Nazis began deporting Jews to Treblinka extermination camp, murdering 265,000 in two months; acknowledges that the lightly armed Jewish Combat Organization, led by 23-year-old Mordecai Anielewicz, resisted heroically when on 19 April 1943, SS forces attacked with heavy artillery, tanks and aircraft to liquidate the Ghetto, battling German forces for nearly one month while the SS razed ghetto buildings, destroying bunkers in which thousands of surviving residents had hidden; welcomes the 75th anniversary's commemoration with Warsaw's people laying daffodils upon the grave of Marek Edelman, the last surviving uprising commander; and hopes that the bravery of the Jewish resistance fighters who resisted genocide will be commemorated internationally for years to come.

This motion has been signed by a total of 50 MPs.

Patricia Gibson16/04/2018North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartyProposed
Peter Bottomley16/04/2018Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins17/04/2018Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Bob Blackman17/04/2018Harrow EastConservativeSeconded
Jim Cunningham17/04/2018Coventry SouthLabourSeconded
Stewart McDonald17/04/2018Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySeconded
John Grogan17/04/2018Signed
David Linden18/04/2018Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Lisa Cameron18/04/2018East Kilbride, Strathaven and LesmahagowScottish National PartySigned
Ian Blackford18/04/2018Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan18/04/2018Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Sandy Martin18/04/2018IpswichLabourSigned
Neil Gray18/04/2018Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Mhairi Black18/04/2018Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss18/04/2018Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown18/04/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Tommy Sheppard18/04/2018Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
Philippa Whitford18/04/2018Central AyrshireScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day18/04/2018Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law18/04/2018Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Martin Docherty19/04/2018West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Dennis Skinner19/04/2018BolsoverLabourSigned
Julian Lewis19/04/2018New Forest EastConservativeSigned
Stuart McDonald23/04/2018Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned
Lloyd Russell-Moyle23/04/2018Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Ben Lake23/04/2018CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Liz Saville Roberts23/04/2018Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Chris Stephens23/04/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Doughty23/04/2018Cardiff South and PenarthLabourSigned
Douglas Chapman23/04/2018Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Patrick Grady23/04/2018Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Wes Streeting23/04/2018Ilford NorthLabourSigned
Kate Hollern24/04/2018BlackburnLabourSigned
Lady Hermon24/04/2018North DownIndependentSigned
Kirsty Blackman25/04/2018Aberdeen NorthScottish National PartySigned
Caroline Lucas25/04/2018Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Mary Glindon25/04/2018North TynesideLabourSigned
Stephen Kinnock26/04/2018AberavonLabourSigned
Emma Little Pengelly26/04/2018Belfast SouthDUPSigned
Gordon Marsden27/04/2018Blackpool SouthLabourSigned
Graham Jones01/05/2018HyndburnLabourSigned
Matt Western02/05/2018Warwick and LeamingtonLabourSigned
Ruth George08/05/2018High PeakLabourSigned
Joan Ryan08/05/2018Signed
Hannah Bardell10/05/2018LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Marion Fellows10/05/2018Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
Alex Sobel15/05/2018Leeds North WestLabour/Co-operativeSigned
David Crausby16/05/2018Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Drew Hendry21/05/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil21/05/2018Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.