Parliament Website

Expanding Access To Retirement Interest-Only Mortgages

EDM number 1168 in 2017-19, proposed by Stephen Lloyd on 17/04/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Elderly people, Housing and Mortgages.

That this House welcomes the decision of the Financial Conduct Authority to recognise retirement interest-only mortgages as standard mortgages; recognises that as a population we are living longer; is concerned that the actions of mortgage lenders may threaten elderly homeowners holding interest-only mortgages with repossession once they reach the age of 75; and urges Santander and other major mortgage lenders to follow the example set by Nationwide and other high street lenders to allow interest-only mortgages to customers up to the age of 85 and beyond.

This motion has been signed by a total of 26 MPs.

Stephen Lloyd17/04/2018EastbourneLiberal DemocratProposed
Jonathan Edwards18/04/2018Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSeconded
Bob Blackman18/04/2018Harrow EastConservativeSeconded
Chris Stephens18/04/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySeconded
Jim Shannon19/04/2018StrangfordDUPSeconded
David Linden23/04/2018Glasgow EastScottish National PartySeconded
Jim Cunningham23/04/2018Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Carol Monaghan23/04/2018Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Lloyd Russell-Moyle23/04/2018Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Peter Bottomley24/04/2018Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Lady Hermon24/04/2018North DownIndependentSigned
Layla Moran24/04/2018Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned
Tim Farron24/04/2018Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Martyn Day24/04/2018Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
David Simpson24/04/2018Upper BannDUPSigned
Liz Saville Roberts24/04/2018Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Caroline Lucas25/04/2018Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Norman Lamb26/04/2018North NorfolkLiberal DemocratSigned
Ruth George30/04/2018High PeakLabourSigned
Wera Hobhouse01/05/2018BathLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Girvan01/05/2018South AntrimDUPSigned
Alan Brown09/05/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Marion Fellows10/05/2018Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
David Crausby16/05/2018Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Drew Hendry21/05/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil21/05/2018Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.